Being Friends with Boys

12022847

Let me start off by saying that I’ve never read nor heard of this author before picking up this book. This was one of those “oh, I like the title. I shall buy it.” kind of books. Usually, when I buy a book, I’ve done my research on it. I know exactly what I’m going into the store for.

But when I was grazing the shelves, I came across this. And the cover of this book comes across warm and fuzzy. Its got a teacup with some warm coffee/tea in it and looks like the type of book you’d read on a rainy/snowy day. A cold day.

And the title is something that resonates with me. In high school, a lot of my friends were guys. I didn’t plan it that way; I just seemed to get alone better with guys. And it’s the same with the protagonist of this story, Charlotte.

A quick synopsis: Charlotte has no girl friends. None. She writes songs for her band (which is composed of all her guy friends) and is seemingly happy. And then all of a sudden, the band is falling apart. One of the members leaves for unknown reasons and no one will tell her what really happened. From then on, Charlotte has about a billion things happen to her.

Reading the back of this book, I was thinking that the band member that left would be a big factor of the book, but nope!

He’s in the book towards the beginning and then reappears for a few split seconds throughout the book, not doing much besides piss me and Charlotte off, and wonder if the back of the book lied to me. And then he has a grand reappearance at the very end, and I’m like “No. No. That . . . that . . . just no. Stop it right now!” Because I wanted him to be around more than this, and if you’re going to take away the cake after the first few pages, don’t give me a bloody cookie at the last few pages!!! IT DOESN’T MAKE UP FOR MY ANGUISH!

28129145

So many things happen in this book, but here’s what really annoyed me. If you read a synopsis about a book and come to find out that what sounded like a big factor is not, in any way, a big factor, and said big factor was one of the main reason you (I) bought this book to begin with, well then, I’m not too happy and I kind of feel lied to.

Anyone else?

I thought that (based on the title) this would be a book I could relate to and say “ooh yeah, that’s totally what it’s like to have a lot of guy friends.” But not once did that happen. I felt like Charlotte was getting thrown around from scene to scene and I really wanted to strangle some of her guy friends. It was unrealistic! And when she does get some girl friends, they’re horrible!

Point of this book: There is no hope for female friends. At all.

Okay, I know that sounds like a lot of bad about this book, but let me also say this: I don’t hate it. I don’t even dislike it. True, it’s not what I expected, but that’s okay. It was still an entertaining read and I might even re-read it sometime in the future. I just don’t know.

I think I have a love/hate relationship with this book.

And the whole thing at the beginning of this rant about it looking to be the kind of book you would read on a snowy/rainy day? It is. Completely.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

