The Mortal Instruments

the-mortal-instruments

So I got my first request (yaayy! *fist pump*) today to review The Mortal Instruments. And first thing I want you to know is that, yes, I completely understand your obsession with this series. When I found out this was going to be a movie, I screamed like a crazed fangirl inside.

image

I read this series when it first came out, so it was a couple years ago, but it was one of those series that will always hold a special place in my heart (can I be any more cliché? . . . Wait, don’t answer that).

First off, I want to talk about the covers. Can they be any more gorgeous? (Hint: rhetorical question). I recently finished my own stand alone novel, and when I look at these covers I think “I want my cover to be as beautiful as these, but I’m not sure if that’s even possible.”

The characters are truly one of a kind. Clary has all the traits that I think a female protagonist should have and Jace is . . . well . . . how can you describe Jace? Answer: You can’t. He’s got the bad boy thing about him, but at the same time he’s not infuriating to read about. A perfect mix. And the sarcasm of that boy.

I can’t breathe. He’s just . . . so . . . so . . .

He’s crush worthy. If I was Clary, this would be how I would feel about Jace.

When-Your-Crush-Has-No-Partner-Funny-I-Volunteer-Picture

And the dynamic of the series . . . Three words: Oh. My. Gosh. The family drama and secrets are to die for (quite literally) and it’s one of those rare novels where you NEVER guess the ending. I sure didn’t.

When I see a long line of secrets in a novel – especially one in a YA series – I’m impressed. And the fact that most of it has to do with the family of the protagonist is amazing. Sometimes in the middle of reading this series I wanted to get a board out and start linking events and lies with string, just to appreciate how much time and effort Cassandra Clare must have put behind this series.

I’m not even surprised it’s being made into a movie. The pure awesomeness of this series is up there with The Hunger Games and Harry Potter series.

I don’t want to give anything away for those of you who haven’t read the series, but seriously, don’t be that one person who hasn’t read it. Because this is like the next Twilight series, but so much better. Unlike that popular vampire romance, this series is one that even a guy would enjoy. It’s not sappy with romance and hot moments and its got enough action and gore to go around. The action is probably why I love this series so much.

Also, if you’ve read this series, you MUST read the other series by Cassandra Clare. (I swear, the woman is pure genius). It’s called The Infernal Devices and it’s on the same level of awesomeness as The Mortal Instruments, if not better (*gasp*).

The Infernal Devices is like a prequel to The Mortal Instruments, and its backdrop is London. Honestly, I think I loved The Infernal Devices more than The Mortal Instruments, if only because of Jem and Will. (Really, those boys). And the ending . . . well, it’s cry worthy.

(READ IT.)

Here’s The Infernal Devices in order:

imagesCAYPN3RM

THE BEAUTY OF THE COVERS IS BLINDING!

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 star books

Leave a Reply

