The Ghost’s Child

2106193

You know those books that tug and pull at your heartstrings until your sick with grief? The ones that make you want to curse and scream at whoever it was the got you into reading in the first place?

No?

Well then, my friend, you haven’t been reading the right books.

This is a story of heartbreak and letting go. But not in the sense you might think. As you’ve probably figured out from the title, this is a ghost story . . . but not, at the same time.

There is no scary house with strange noises and a bloody past riddled with murder and lies. There is no spirit out for revenge or holding grudges.

This is a story of Maddy and Feather. (Yes, that really is his name). Maddy and Feather fall in love by the sea. They are young, and this is during a time when you married in your own “class,” and Maddy comes from a wealthy home while Feather is simply a boy from the beach, who enjoys talking to birds. (No, he is not crazy. I promise).

But Feather is not . . . Ohh, how do I say this? He’s not human, but he is solid, so not exactly a ghost, I don’t think. He is . . . a memory. That’s what I like to think of him as.

Anyways, Maddy and Feather are married and live in a quaint little cottage by the sea, but Feather is being pulled away. He loves Maddy, but he was never meant to stay in one place for very long.

So I actually found this at a library sale a while back, and I honestly don’t remember what it was that made me buy it. It wasn’t a book I’d ever heard of and when I read the synopsis, I wasn’t very impressed.

Maybe it was because of the title and cover, but I was intrigued. And it was so much better than I could ever imagine.

Me at the beginning:

image

Me in the middle:

image

Me towards the end and at the end:

image

image

image

I kind of hate and love Feather. If you read it, tell me in the comments below what you think of him. Because I just . . . I just . . .

I mean, look at this quote!

“There is nothing that is more beautiful than everything else in the world.”  

(*sobbing very loudly*).

I know that we’re not supposed to call men beautiful, but there’s not another word for what Feather is. There just isn’t.

At the beginning, I was confused. A big question that comes up with Maddy and her father is “What is the world’s most beautiful thing?” And Maddy travels all over the world to find it, but never can. Her father finally tells her what it is, but she doesn’t really get it or believe it.

And I didn’t pay much attention to it. But after I finished the book, I realized what it was. And if you read the book and have an idea what it is, tell me in the comments below and I’ll tell you what I think it is! Because I don’t want to ruin it.

There is some crazy stuff that happens towards the end, some stuff that if I had read it anywhere else, I would have ditched the book. But by that point in the book, you have no hope of putting it down. It’s just not going to happen.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

