Gameboard of the Gods

Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X, #1)

I had no idea what I was picking up. All I saw were the words “Richelle Mead” and that was all I needed to know.

Right before I started reading it, though, I looked here and saw a bunch of one star reviews that just totally hated on it. So I started reading and really liked it, but then I wasn’t even a third of the way into it when it (unfortunately) just lost my interest as so many people had said it would.

Wait! There’s more!

But instead of putting it on the Bookshelf of Shame to never be read again, I stuck with it and finished it within a week. And it was actually really good.

One thing though . . . I really don’t know how I thought this was a teen book when I first picked it up. I mean, if you’re a younger teen, DON’T read this until you’re older. That’s all I’ll say. But I had NO clue some of the stuff that was going to be in here. I would’ve liked some heads-up.

Eric Chavez throws ball at Cody Eppley Eric Chavez Throws Ball at Cody Eppleys Head

Anyways . . . What really lost me was that we’re immediately thrown into this world where Justin has “ravens” and Mae has some dark past we don’t get to know about and nothing . . . nothing! . . . important is explained until, like, the last hundred pages. No joke. So expect that to happen. But if you keep with it, it’s totally worth it. (Plus, it’s Richelle Mead, people! You don’t put down a novel by Mead).

The world she creates is phenomenal, the characters are emotions incarnate, and I really don’t understand how people are saying she can do better and other nonsense. The world that has rejected the notion of God . . . how can it work?

But what really kept me reading was Mead’s writing. I just can’t get enough of it. You know when people say that they’ll happily read an author’s grocery list? Well, that’s me. (Don’t laugh. You know if Richelle Mead handed you her grocery list, you would want to read it too).

And no, it is not like Vampire Academy or Bloodlines in any way (except maybe the superwoman of a protagonist), so don’t expect it to be. For one thing, the characters aren’t teenagers or anything. Except maybe Tessa.

1 Comment

Filed under 3 star books

One response to “Gameboard of the Gods

  1. Pingback: The Replacement | obsessivereads

Leave a Reply

