Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between, #1)

Rating: 5 Stars

Ghnlhkjhkjshkufenkehfkuenfk

Yes. YESSSS.

No.

WHAT? NO. NUNO.

That’s not how it works!

WHAT AM I READING?!

Okay . . .

UHFKNSFLNSKFUNOSNCKURVNDKVNDKVNKUD.

Those, ladies and gentlemen, were my reactions throughout this much, MUCH anticipated novel.

River comes to town to rent Violet’s guest house at the empty mansion she and her twin brother, Luke, live in. But there’s something . . . intoxicating about being around River. It seems otherworldly. And not . . . natural.

And when little kids in town are hunting the graveyard all through the night for the Devil ever since River came to town, searching for a little girl, it doesn’t take Violet long to connect the two. And River lies about everything, so it makes it even harder to trust him.

I wanted this book so, sooo bad. Like, the amount of pure WANT ever since I first saw the cover and blurb were insane. I was that crazed person that marked her calendar the day it was SUPPOSED to come out and religiously went to the bookstore to be the first in line to buy it. But what happens when I get there? NO. BOOK. (*dead*)

image

So I ordered it on Amazon. But then it got to me a day before I left for college, and, well . . . lets just say that when they tell you that for every hour you spend in class, you’ll spend three hours outside of class studying and doing homework . . . they’re lying. It’s more like six hours.

Anyways . . .

I read this in two days. (I know. I know. That’s pretty normal for me. But here’s the thing . . .) I truly couldn’t put it down. I’m one of those people that even if I don’t like the book very much, I’ll still finish it within one or two days. If I ever put a book down and never finish it, then it was pretty darn bad.

. . . Yes. I am well aware.

And I really liked this book. I do. I swear. That’s why I gave it five stars. Even when you see all those other really bad Goodreads and blog reviews on this book, just hear me out.

Forget the blurb. Just wipe it clean from your mind. It is not what it seems.

When I read the blurb, I thought that River was going to be like, the Devil or something like that, and he sort of is . . . but not at all what I was picturing.

First off, Violet. I love Violet in this book. River is a lying, (sometimes) annoying bleep, but what you see is what you get. He’s not the way he is because of some deep, dark secret or because he has to. He completely understands that there’s no excuse for what he’s doing. But, also, take note that he doesn’t really care and might be a tad out of control. (I actually really like that . . . Don’t judge.)

But this was very different from the normal, cut-and-dry YA books about the hot guy with a mysterious past. River doesn’t ever push Violet away. Sometimes it’s her doing the pushing. And his ability . . . was genius. It makes the story so much better.

But Violet. She loves books. (check.) She likes wearing old clothes. (check.) And she’s not afraid of River, and doesn’t let him push her around. (check.) I don’t care what all the other reviews are saying about her. I think she’s a strong character. She’s not a pushover at all. Sure, there are times in the book when she doesn’t say no to River when she probably should have, but I think it was more out of, um, something River could do to her (no spoilers) and maybe she was just a little curious. But when all said and done, I don’t think many other girls would have done anything different.

See, because of all these YA books with “strong” protagonists, we have this expectation that all YA books should have butt-kicking females that have a smart mouth and no filter system. We look at Bella Swan as the complete opposite of a strong female because everything that she does in the books are revolved around Edward and blah, blah, blah.

But here’s the thing: In real life, most teenage girls are going to act like Bella. I’m sorry, but it’s true.

Yup.

But Violet knows that she likes River, a lot, and a lot does revolve around him, but she also knows when something is amiss and doesn’t let River off the hook. She gets mad at him. River does not walk all over her.

And it was so different. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again. I AM SICK OF THE DARK HAIRED MYSTERIOUS GUYS WITH AN ATTITUDE THAT MAKES THE GIRL HATE HIM BUT SORT OF LOVE HIM AND THEN HE’S GOT SOME DEEP DARK SECRET THAT HE WANTS TO PROTECT HER FROM AND GSLFSFLSFUKESFHOHFLEFIJEIRONF

Authors. Stop it. Just stop it. Right now.

But River . . .

I have a hate/love fictional relationship with that boy.

image

I think the love part is going to win . . .

And . . . and there’s a sequel!! The ending proved it!!!

Gosflsfniehflneiofnelrifnkelrfe.

Yes.

1 Comment

Filed under 5 star books

One response to “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

  1. Tani

    Loved the review!

Leave a Reply

