Inhuman

Inhuman (Fetch, #1)

*I won this book through Goodreads First Reads giveaway. In no way has this influenced my rating or opinion of this book.*

Synopsis via Goodreads:

In a world ravaged by mutation, a teenage girl must travel into the forbidden Savage Zone to recover lost artifacts or her father’s life is forfeit.

America has been ravaged by a war that has left the eastern half of the country riddled with mutation. Many of the people there exhibit varying degrees of animal traits. Even the plantlife has gone feral.

Crossing from west to east is supposed to be forbidden, but sometimes it’s necessary. Some enter the Savage Zone to provide humanitarian relief. Sixteen-year-old Lane’s father goes there to retrieve lost artifacts—he is a Fetch. It’s a dangerous life, but rewarding—until he’s caught.

Desperate to save her father, Lane agrees to complete his latest job. That means leaving behind her life of comfort and risking life and limb—and her very DNA—in the Savage Zone. But she’s not alone. In order to complete her objective, Lane strikes a deal with handsome, roguish Rafe. In exchange for his help as a guide, Lane is supposed to sneak him back west. But though Rafe doesn’t exhibit any signs of “manimal” mutation, he’s hardly civilized . . . and he may not be trustworthy.

For me, this started out extremely slow. Like, I wanted to throw it across the room because my mind could not function through the nothingness that was swirling around.

But then 2/3 of the way through it, my mind started to function again and it got me hooked. Lane is an okay character, though I did get annoyed with her attitude in some of the situations. It’s like, oh this person is about to kill me, or it’s at least a possibility, but, hey, I don’t want to run away because that would seem rude . . .

WHAT.

And Lane goes on and on about how her whole life she’s had all this self defense training and survival skills, but NOT ONCE did she fight back, or in anyway make me think she was strong and could fend for herself.

Oh, and the guys? Let me make this simple: One of the guys I liked at the beginning, but then at, like, the very end he turned out to be a total D-bag, and what does Lane do? Apologize after she got mad at him because he was being a total D-bag, and he wasn’t even sorry! WHAT IS THIS?! She was totally in the right! And. She. Apologized. Because she thought he was going to start saying he was sorry for making a bad choice, and she wanted to be all mature and be like “No, it was my fault” when it really wasn’t, and what does he do? Look at her and basically go “Oh, that’s not what I was about to say. And thank you, I know I was in the right.”

Can I murder him now?

When that happened, I wanted Lane to be the spider in this situation.

I mean, I LIKED the guy almost the whole way through the book, until that happened. What a loser.

And the other guy? I liked him from the beginning. Sure, he pissed me off after he opened his mouth for the first time, but this guy seriously grew on me in the I’m kind of getting-more -and-more-attracted-to-you-as-a-reader,-but-unless-you-are-about-to-make-a-witty-joke,-please-keep-that-mouth-firmly-shut.

Because seriously, I love the guy now that I finished the book, and I really hope Lane ends up with him, but COME ON. This guy is so . . . infuriating with everyone he meets. You really don’t have to be such a b***** about everything and to everyone you meet! Really, I swear.

But out of the two love interests, you get to choose from the stuck up hot boy who always thinks he’s right, or the b***** of a hot boy who has the best lines . . . I KNOW WHO I’M ROOTING FOR.

And Lane . . . all those times she was like “I’m leaving without you two idiots,” I was all like “You go girl!” but what happened??! The two idiots of men came along with her because she backed down.

This is what she should have done:

Just run girl. You would have been better off without the men.

All in all, though, I quite liked the book. I’ve never read a book that had a virus that turned a good chunk of the population into animals. I really, really liked that. The bad guy in the book was also very interesting. I was actually reading and waiting for the next time he appeared. That doesn’t usually happen with me when it comes to the bad guy. Usually when the villain appears, I’m blah about him/her. And the next time they appear, I’m all like:

But I was actually reading more for the villain. And I really did not expect him to be the villain. At all. It totally took me by surprise.

I don’t know. I feel like I’m going to really love the next installment. Like, it’s one of those series that has to grow on you.

So, this is what I say about this novel to all of you:

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 star books

Leave a Reply

