The Memory of After

The Memory of After (The Memory Chronicles, #1)

*I won this book through Goodreads First Reads giveaway. In no way has this influenced my rating or opinion of this book.*

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow drones, Felicia passes the endless hours reliving memories of her time on Earth and mourning what she’s lost-family, friends, and Neil, the boy she loved.

Then a girl in a neighboring chamber is found dead, and nobody but Felicia recalls that she existed in the first place. When Julian-a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life-comes to offer Felicia a way out, Felicia learns the truth: If she joins the rebellion to overthrow the Morati, the angel guardians of Level 2, she can be with Neil again.

So, when I first read that description, before I had won this novel, I thought it was the coolest idea. I mean, a girl who has already died trying to find her boyfriend? I loved that idea. It had potential.

But, honestly, I had difficulty even finishing this book.

It starts out really slow in my opinion, not even really telling the reader anything until Julian shows up, and I thought that took way too long. But what really got on my nerves was the writing.

The writing would have been fine if not for the dialogue. It made me physically cringe. I don’t know why, but I have serious issues with dialogue that instead of maybe saying “don’t,” they say “do not.” And it is always. Like. That.

I’m sorry, but no teenager is going to say “do not” when they could just say “don’t.” It just felt like a lot of the dialogue was rushed, and not a lot of thought was put into how someone might actually say something. Most of the dialogue seemed forced and, well, annoying to me.

I might be a little harsh when it comes to that, but it’s just one of my pet peeves.

And Julian? I don’t know if I was just expecting too much from this guy, or if he’s just one of the most annoyed men I have ever read about. I don’t like him. At all.

He’s cocky, he’s got nothing really going for him, he’s a liar, and he’s, well, ANNOYING. The guy is so in love with himself sometimes.

But honestly? I can’t say much about the characters because I don’t remember much about them. Like, I just finished the book last night and now I can’t even remember a characteristic about them. There wasn’t anything I particularly liked about any of the characters, nothing to make them stand out to me. This book was, well, dry for me.

And the plot? It could have been great. It could have been so unique from all the other YA books out there. But it wasn’t.

The plot was so boring to me. Nothing happened that I was happy with. Nothing about this book gave me strong emotions. And if, IF  it did, it was me getting pissed off.

And when someone did happen that I wasn’t expecting, I didn’t really care. By that time, it made no difference to me what happened to the characters. I didn’t like any of them.

Honestly, I had to graze the last half of the book. I wanted to move on.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 star books

Leave a Reply

