Perfect Ruin

Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)

Rating: 5 Stars

Akflknfdsjnsdlnflsufrnlacmoawanlnlweinflmclsmv . . .

Sooo . . .

About this novel . . . IT’S FLIPPING AMAZING. LIKE, THINK GRANDMA’S HOMEMADE COOKIES TIMES A FREAKIN’ MILLION AND THEN ADD A PUPPY AND A SCREAMING GOAT REMIXED INTO A TAYLOR SWIFT SONG AND YOU HAVE MY FEELS FOR THIS BLOODY BOOK.

That is all.

image

Synopsis via Goodreads:

On Internment, the floating island in the clouds where 16-year-old Morgan Stockhour lives, getting too close to the edge can lead to madness. Even though Morgan’s older brother, Lex, was a Jumper, Morgan vows never to end up like him. She tries her best not to mind that her life is orderly and boring, and if she ever wonders about the ground, and why it is forbidden, she takes solace in best friend Pen and her betrothed, Basil.

Then a murder, the first in a generation, rocks the city. With whispers swirling and fear on the wind, Morgan can no longer stop herself from investigating, especially when she meets Judas. He is the boy being blamed for the murder — betrothed to the victim — but Morgan is convinced of his innocence. Secrets lay at the heart of Internment, but nothing can prepare Morgan for what she will find — or who she will lose.

image

^My initial reaction.^

I mean, COME ON, a city . . . floating in the sky . . . MOMMA, CALL THE PASTER ‘CAUSE I’M IN LOVE.

I don’t even know anymore.

Okay, so for those of you who have seen my initial fangirling post about this – I mostly talked about the cover, which is still flippin’ amazin’ people – you know that I was reading for Pen and Morgan, not the love interests. And while my initial thoughts about Pen and Morgan were indeed correct, I will have you know, I still . . . I still fell in love with the boys. Both of them.

And before you love triangle haters get your panties in a knot, JUST LISTEN. The two boys I am currently in love with are not in a love triangle with one girl.

I KNOW, RIGHT?

Shocking, I know. Since this is indeed a YA book and whatnot. But the two guys I’m talking about are the betrothed to Morgan and Pen. And no, before you get worried, they are not secretly competing with each other for only one of the girls, causing drama between the two best friends and whatnot. That’s not it at all.

Both the boys are completely in love with their betrothed. COMPLETELY.

And they’re frickin’ adorable for it, too. Basil and Thomas are . . . *sigh.*

I honestly don’t know how you would choose between the two of them.

And I know what you’re thinking when you read the synopsis. You’re thinking, “It sounds like Judas is going to be the typical bad boy who Morgan falls for and leaves her perfect betrothed guy for. *Sigh.* Just like every other frickin’ YA book on the shelves now-in-days.” Or something along those lines.

But here’s the thing: I didn’t feel that Judas was as big a part of this novel as that synopsis leads us to believe.

And I didn’t feel like Lauren DeStefano was trying to make the reader – me – fall in love with him either. Or even like him in that way.

Maybe that will change. Maybe I’m just too thick headed to notice the attraction. I mean, there are some, tiny parts where I could see a possible attraction, but I think Morgan’s going to end up with Basil so long as nothing major happens.

Unless Basil dies . . . Ohhhhhh, my thoughts.

I don’t know if that will happen! This part was not a spoiler! I’m just letting my mind wander and whatnot!

Now, Pen’s and Morgan’s relationship is PER-wait for it-FECT.

They’re so . . . sassy!

Morgan’s the daydreamer out of the two of them, while Pen’s the smart, religious one. Pen’s the rule follower and Morgan’s the one who’s trying to learn how to lie better.

And honestly, I don’t care who you are, you’ll fall in love with both of them.

As for the storyline . . . I MEAN, COME ONE, A CITY IN THE SKY?

I don’t know how you top that. I just . . . don’t.

For those of you who are forever geeks like me (*in a whisper*: And proud of it.) you may have seen that old kid movie called Castle in the Sky.

That was my first thought. If it was anything like the awesomeness of that movie, then this novel was going to be epic.

And it was. It lived up to all my expectations. Like, seriously. And one – actually two – things I have to say about Lauren DeStefano: she sure as heck knows how to write and she’s not afraid to kill off her own characters.

For the first thing: just dang. I mean, yes, I realize she’s an author and whatnot, so obviously she knows how to write, but there is a large difference in those who know how to write and those who know how to write in ways that make your brain feel happy. Like, her writing is just a joy to read. And there aren’t many authors out there I can say that for, sadly.

For the second thing: I noticed this in her first series. She’s not afraid to make readers unhappy by killing off characters we love. And I love her for that. I mean, sure, it doesn’t feel too good when you first read it, but then you love her for it. Because sometimes I think someone dying is the best possible ending there can be, as awful as that sounds.

There are no “things I would do differently” for this novel. There just aren’t.

It is certainly not a perfect ruin. It’s just plain perfect.

2 Comments

Filed under 5 star books

2 responses to “Perfect Ruin

  1. beaslet

    You should read her other series The Chemical Garden. It was really interesting! I didn’t see it in any of your reviews so I assumed you haven’t read it. I would be interesting in hearing your thoughts on it. Thanks!

    • I actually have read The Chemical Garden trilogy – that’s actually what started my love for Lauren DeStefano. (*Le sigh* Linden) It was a long time ago, though, so I don’t remember as much about it to review it at this time, but I’ll definitely put it on my to-read-again list (it’s a thing, I swear).
      Thanks for commenting!! :p

Leave a Reply

