Elegy

Elegy (Watersong, #4)

Rating: 2 Stars

5 . . . 500 pages . . . over 500 pages . . .

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Now that Gemma holds the key to breaking the siren curse, the stakes have never been higher.  At last, a future with those she loves—and a romance with Alex—is close enough to touch…but not if Penn has anything to say about it.  Penn is more determined than ever to have Daniel for her own and to destroy Gemma and Harper along the way, and Penn always gets what she wants.  Now a final explosive battle is about to begin, and the winner will take everything Gemma holds dear.

So . . . the last installment of the Watersong series, eh? And it’s over 500 pages long . . .

What the heck?!

I mean, don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against long books. Usually I like them. But not this one, not this one AT ALL.

I did a review on the most recent Watersong installation (aka, the third book) and I was disappointed. I liked the storyline – I thought it had potential. It seemed different from all the other YA novels out there today.

And I remember reading a bunch of bad reviews on Amanda Hocking’s books because she’s too young a writer and her writing style sucks and blah, blah, blah.

I disagree . . . and agree.

For the writing style: I have no problem with it. She’s a better writer than most older YA authors. The dialogue doesn’t usually come off as fake and eye roll worthy, so that’s something.

Her storylines are great. From the books of hers I’ve read, they’re different. They’re not your typical supernatural/fantasy genre books.

What I do have a problem with was 1.) how long this book was and 2.) how dull the characters got. I’m all for long books, but 500 pages of, what I felt, was completely irrelevant facts and stuff we (as readers) have absolutely no interest in is a cause to lose a few stars.

For one thing, this series is big on mythology, right? And I really like mythology. In fact, I like it so much that I took a class at my college this last semester on classical mythology. And let me tell you, that class basically ruined a good portion of this book for me because about 2/4 – 3/4 through this novel, it starts talking about Diana and Demeter being the same person . . .

WHICH THEY ARE NOT.

image

Demeter is basically the Greek goddess of agriculture and is the mother of Persephone. Diana is the Roman goddess of hunting and the moon. Diana is the equivalent of Artemis, the Greek goddess of basically the same things. See, Roman and Greek gods and goddesses are basically the same people, but they just have different names. And so when this novel starts saying that Diana and Demeter are the same person, it basically annoyed me throughout the novel.

Also, the characters . . . just kind of die on me. Like, I really used to like Daniel. I really liked the idea of Daniel and Harper together. But then I realized in this book that he is, in fact, a complete and total moron, and that I can ship better YA novel couples with my time. Just sayin’.

Alex comes back into the picture (like I think we all knew he would) but he might as well be dead to me. He has no substance, and there’s really nothing likeable about him. Though, there’s nothing dislikable about him either, he’s just one of those characters – in fact, both Gemma and he are – where you just realize that they’re still characters. They never seem to really change and after you put the book down, you realize that you couldn’t care less about what happens to everyone in the end.

Luckily, I figured this out about 3/4 into the novel, and just skimmed the last bit. Because after having just read the first three books in the series, I wasn’t about to just NOT KNOW how it all ended (even though I could easily guess, and – GUESS WHAT – be completely correct).

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

