Through the Zombie Glass

Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)

Rating: 3 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Inspired by the childhood classic Alice in Wonderland, this harrowing and romantic story features teen zombie slayer Alice Bell who has lost so much—family, friends, her home. After a strange new zombie attack, Alice fears she may be losing her mind as well. A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do wicked things. The whispers of the dead assault her ears and mirrors seem to come frighteningly to life. She’s never needed her team of zombie slayers more—including her boyfriend, Cole—than she does now. But as Cole strangely withdraws and the zombies gain new strength, Ali knows one false step may doom them all.

The good: Alice in Wonderland parody, strong female protagonist, female protagonist not afraid to talk smack to her strong boyfriend, does not come crawling back to him or take him back when he crawls back to her.

The bad: Stereotypical teenage girls, girls acting too stupid to deal with, some annoying tough bad boys (again, stereotypical), and a storyline that can be difficult to remember since this is the second installment in the series, and annoying, unrealistic adults.

For starters, the only reason I gave this three stars is because it is a cool parody of Alice in Wonderland.

But let me just give you some examples why I rated the book as low as I did:

One: Frosty SUCKS!

Two: Have I mentioned Frosty sucks it raw??

Three: How do U feel about murder? 4 or against?? Before U answer, know that I have good reason!

Four: If 4, do U know good place 2 hide body??

The rest described the many ways she’d like to kill him. My favorite involved a bag of Skittles and a silk scarf.

Mmm. Skittles.

Are you high, Ali? Or maybe it’s just Kat. Or both of you, I’m guessing from those text messages.

Second example:

Me: 2 talk? Yes. We’ve said all we need 2 say.

Cole: Who runs this show? Just be there.

Me: Fine.

Cole: Your enthusiasm is humbling.

Me: Go screw yourself.

Cole: I have, I prefer 2 have a partner.

image

. . .

Are words necessary to explain this one?

Okay, first of all, these two examples also happened to be examples of the text messages displayed in this novel. I have serious issue with them because 1.) not all teenage girls act like that and/or text like that and 2.) I find it kind of insulting that just because I am a teenage girl I must text like an idiot.

Most teenagers I know actually spell out their words, thank you very much. And even if we don’t, the only times are when we change “you” to “u.” But that’s, like, it. I have never, or ever seen anyone, use “4” instead of “for” or “W/” instead of “with.” And my mother is more likely to switch “you” to “u” than I am. I’m just saying.

And it’s not just the text messages (thought those are what really bugged me). It was just how stereotypical teenage girl-ish all the females are in this series. They’re all drama queens and two faced. I mean, yes, those girls exist, but not all high school are that clear cut with the stereotypes. My high school wasn’t. It wasn’t just the jocks and cheer leaders as the popular kids and the nerds and the geeks as the picked on kids.

I am so sick of reading novels that revolve around that kind of thing.

Also, the cover? I think it’s gorgeous, but the girl? There is no way that’s the same girl from the first cover.

Alice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

No. No way.

Either they’re different people, or they just used waaayyyy too much white make-up on the girl for the second cover.

The first cover was better, I think.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 star books

Leave a Reply

