Lips Touch: Three Times

Lips Touch: Three Times

Rating: 4 Stars

Mmmmm . . .

Mmmmmmmmmm . . .

I don’t know what to do about this.

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers’ souls:

Goblin Fruit
In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today’s savvy girls?

Spicy Little Curses
A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.

Hatchling
Six days before Esme’s fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons?

Soooo . . .

I actually heard about this short story novella a while ago (like, a few years ago). This was before I found Goodreads or even started this little ol’ blog, and I heard about this book from another YA reviewer (you can find her review here). She was actually the first YA reviewer I ever knew about or read about, sooo yeah. You should check her out.

Anyways, she raved about it. And most of the books she had read and rated 5 stars were some of my favorite novels, so when I saw that she had rated this one 5 stars also, I decided that I should give it a whirl.

Though, sadly, I forgot about it until I stumbled upon the cover a few days ago and thought “That looks familiar . . .”

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how books are picked up and read.

image

Annddd . . . I don’t really know how I feel about this book.

I mean, yeah, I liked it well enough, but my main reason I liked it was because of the writing.

I mean, look:

“Boredom is a terrible affliction of the soulless.”

And:

“Like attracts like, beauty finds beauty, and freaks look on from the smoking section, aching.”

One more for good measure:

“Kissing can ruin lives. Lips touch sometimes teeth clash. New hunger is born with a throb and caution falls away. A cursed girl with lips still moist from her first kiss might feel suddenly wild like a little monsoon. She might forget her curse just long enough to get careless and let it come true. She might kill everyone she loves . . .”

It’s gorgeous, and the storyline is nothing to complain about either.

My only complaint is about how short the two first stories were. The third is the longest, and it’s the one I care for the least. I really liked the first one, but when I started to really get hooked, it ended. Same with the second one. But honestly, I think you could make the first short story into a full novel.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 star books

Leave a Reply

