The Liebster Award

liebster-award

I have been nominated for the Liebster award by bookgeeking. For those of you who have no idea what this is (like me at first) it’s basically a cool way to encourage and support bloggers who have under 200 followers. From what I’ve read about it, it seems that the rules differ for everyone, but the main gist is to continue to support other bloggers and answer a few questions about myself (which also seem to differ for everyone), but since bookgeeking is the one who nominated me, I’m going to answer the questions she had for me.

So, the rules (via bookgeeking):

1. You must link back to the person who nominated you.

2. You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.

3. List 11 facts about yourself.

4.You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with fewer than 200 followers, There may be one or two that have less than 1000 followers because I love their blogs so much.

5. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

6. You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

1.) I’ve said this before, but bookgeeking was the one who nominated me (thanks again!), so go check out her blog!!!

2.) Bookgeeking’s questions:

1. Which fictional character would you most like to meet?

The funny thing about this question is that I actually asked practically the same question on my blog before. And my answer still hasn’t changed: Violet Eden from The Violet Eden Chapters by Jessica Shirvington. If I couldn’t grab her, I would go for Phoenix, also from The Violet Eden Chapters. I would so fangirl over either of them.

2. What’s your favourite fantasy race to read about? Or if you don’t read fantasy, which race do like the idea of least?

Of course I read fantasy! I mean, phssh girl, fantasy is my love life (I’m almost kidding). And I really don’t know how I would pick. I’m really not that picky. The one I think of off the bat, though, would have to be something like Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. Something Russian-y with truth nicely mixed in with the author’s own ideas. (If you haven’t read this, then I have to ask: Bro, do you even YA book?)

3. What’s your favourite kind of music and which artist is your favourite?

I don’t feel like I have a particular favorite kind of music – I like all kinds. But I’m usually picky in the way of I don’t usually love only one band or singer; it’s more like I’ll love just one or two of their songs and move on (see my Music post above). But for the artists that I love all their music, I would have to say Marina and the Diamonds, Florence + the Machine, and Lana Del Ray have to be my top picks.

4. Do you have any book geeky friends you can chat to, or is that one of the joys of blogging for you?

Sadly, no. That’s kind of why I started blogging. My parents and friends didn’t seem like they always wanted to hear me rant about this amazing series I just finished (and I finish books daily, sooo you can see the issue). And for the friends I could fangirl to didn’t read as fast as I did or were just in love with that one series (crazy people).

5. What’s your dream job?

My dream job would have to be a YA writer. I’m currently working on my third book and I’m also working on getting my first book published. I’ve done the query letters, the synopsis, dozens and dozens of proof-readings, etc, etc . . . And I’m not ever going to give up on that, but in the meantime I’m in college studying Forensic Science and possibly going to get a minor in creative writing (I’m not sure yet). But, hey, I’m young.

6. If you it was possible to survive without food, as in it was only a luxury, if you had to give up food or books which would you give up?

Food, of course! One, because if I never have to eat, I wouldn’t have to worry about gaining weight, and two, it’s books we’re talking about! What is life without words?

7. When rereading a favourite book of yours, is there any part you skip over because you don’t like it or find it boring?

Yup. I try not to, and I usually feel guilty a few pages later because I feel like I’m picking and choosing the words I want to read. It’s just not fair to the other words, you know? ;p But usually the part I skip is either a really sad one or the character makes a choice I really disagree with and think stupid. I can’t bare stupidity in novels.

8. Which book was the one that made you find the magic of reading?

It was R.L. Stine’s Fear Street series. I can still remember how I got into them. I wouldn’t read as a kid, oddly enough, and I was homeschooled at the time (middle school time) and my mom was trying to get me into reading (she couldn’t fathom how it would take off, I can tell you) and I remember she took me to the library and just told me to check out any book, any book at all, and give it a chance. And I found R.L. Stine’s section. I hated reading at this time, remember. But I tried. We were about to visit my grandma is Arizona, and it was nearing the end of winter, and for those of you unfamiliar with Arizona weather, let me just tell you it gets insanely hot. Like 120 degrees Fahrenheit kind of hot. But during a few weeks of perfect weather right on the edge of summer, it was perfect out, and my grandma had this comfy swing in the backyard. I would sit out there and read, and (I kid you not) for me, as the kid who had trouble finishing any book, I finished five Fear Street books in a week. A WEEK. And then, because I couldn’t wait, I made my parents take me to the bookstore to buy R.L. Stine’s The Babysitter novels. All of them. But never any of his Goosebumps series. I wasn’t into those.

From then on, it was history.

And so, 500 books later . . .

But after my R.L. Stine period, I read The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. (Yes, I read them before the TV show, before anyone ever knew of them. And yes, I feel proud of myself for that. ;p) And I devoured that series. And then I moved on to the rest of her series, and that was kind of how my YA book-love began. (Fun fact about Hannah for the day: I still own all of my old R.L. Stine and L.J. Smith books – and yes, I still do re-read them all the time – and to this day, one of my all-time-top-five-YA-books is The Forbidden Game by L.J. Smith. Swoon worthy, holy crap.)

9. If you could have an animal (real of fictional) as a pet which one would it be?

I would definitely have a lioness. Another fun fact about me: I am obsessed with lions. I don’t know why, but whenever I read a book that incorporates a lion, I fangirl like you-don’t-even-know. My favorite childhood movie was Lion King, obviously, and I think I have every Lion King themed stuffed animal ever created. Like, I’m not kidding. I’m never getting rid of them.

10. Which book that is not one you usually read are you wanting to read, or have read recently?

I really want to read It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini (I’m trying to find a book/author I haven’t already heard/read of). I don’t know why, but I’m really into these funny/sad/stories-of-depression kind of books right now. I recently read By The Time You Read This, I’ll Be Dead by Julie Anne Peters and it was not a light read, at all (as you can probably tell by the name). I do not recommend this for everyone, it made me . . . I don’t even have a word for it, but just be warned. It’s a great book, I think, but just do a lot of research on it before you pick it up. Don’t just start reading it one random day, completely unaware of what’s it about.

11. I am running out of ideas sorry. Coffee or Tea?

Ohhhh . . . That’s really tough. I’m a big tea person – I love all kinds. Plus, I used to live in the south, so sweet tea was practically a type of religion (jk). But lately I’ve been a big coffee person (I blame college), but not the straight black kind – it needs to be loaded up on sugar and cream, thanks. Another funny thing is that I tend to eat/drink whatever the characters in the book I’m reading likes to eat/drink. So, for example, during reading The Violet Eden Chapters and Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, both female protagonists (both named Violet, oddly enough) are obsessed with coffee. So, I find myself chugging cups of it as I’m re-reading them.

3.) 11 facts about myself:

1.) Hi. My name is Hannah and I’m a bookoholic.

2.) I currently have three bookshelves that are bursting. I need more space, desperately.

3.) I’m currently 18 years old going to an insanely overpriced college.

4.) I’ve moved about 8 times in 18 years. I grew up in a military family where we never stayed in the same state for more than three or four years.

5.) I have never dated, partly because the boys in books have ruined my expectations of guys in the real world, partly because I grew up in a military family where we move all the time (not to mention the over-protective Dad who knows how to use a gun and isn’t afraid to use this fact to his advantage), and partly because I’ve never been all that interested in dating.

6.) I hate the idea of the Nook and Kindle because I’m convinced it’s the end to physical copies of books (and therefore the end of that amazing new book smell), but I cried with joy when I was given one for Christmas.

7.) I never actually cry. Like, ever. (Well, except when I don’t do good on an exam, my one kryptonite. And that one time I got a Nook for Christmas.) I know I say in my posts that I cried over books and that I was a blubbering mess, and I was, but I don’t actually cry. It’s more of a lot of pacing and waving my hands around frantically.

8.) If I don’t read for a long period of time, my parents start to question if I should go into therapy to keep my sanity.

9.) I don’t like chocolate cake. I can’t even stand the smell of it.

10.) If my parents were asked, I’m an introvert that can’t talk to anyone. If my friends at college were asked, I’m an introvert that has rare sightings of never-shutting-up and exuberance.

11.) I don’t understand why it’s 11 facts about myself; 11 is such an odd number. Why not just 10?

 4.) You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with fewer than 200 followers, There may be one or two that have less than 1000 followers because I love their blogs so much.

My nominees:

1.) The Book Eater (http://the-book-eater.blogspot.com/2011/03/bit-about-me-and-why-you-should-hang.html)

2.) . . . Confession: I don’t actually know of any other bloggers. Opps. Part of why is because I’m still pretty new to this and lately I just haven’t had time to do much of anything non-homework related. But, hey, how ’bout this: If anyone out there has a blog they want me to go to, let me know in the comments below. I’ll go see them and make another entry about why you should go visit them and nominate them for this award. Sorry, I feel bad about this (I’m a horrible person, I know).  😦

5.) You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Actually, I’m also going to make this just for anyone. I’d love to see everyone’s answers to these:

1.) If you could become a bookmark, what book would you forever want to be placed in and on what page? Why?

2.) Do you feel that a reader owns the characters of a book, or does the author? Why?

3.) Straight or curly hair?

4.) What character (and from what book) would you want to actually be for a day?

5.) Be honest. Have you ever screamed (out loud) at a book in public?

6.) Is reading a type of therapy to you?

7.) What’s your favorite quote from a YA book?

8.) Do you prefer reading inside or outside? In what weather?

9.) Do you ever find yourself inadvertently replicating things characters in books do? (Ex: eating the foods they eat, wearing what they wear, etc, etc . . .)

10.) If you could change one ending to one book, what would it be? Or would you not change a thing to any book? Why?

2 Comments

Filed under Blog

2 responses to “The Liebster Award

  1. Great post I loved your answers. I have a degree in Forensic science, it was fun until 3rd year lol.
    1. I would be placed in Harry Potter and the half blood prince, the page before Dumbledore dies because then it would not happen.
    2. A bit of both, I recently wrote a short story that is getting published soon and in the editing process they changed the nature of one of my characters, I got very upset, it was only a small thing but how could she not know what he was like? Anyway I think the author has full custody and the reader just gets the characters at weekends.
    3. I am guessing your asking If I have straight or curly hair? I have wavy hair, just to be awkward.
    4. I would want to be Sophie Mercer from Hex Hall, she is a brilliant character. I was refraining from saying Hermione.
    5. No I have not, I usually don’t ever get vocal about what happens in books, I just scream in my head. The only time I ever shouted was when Dumbledore died and I was at home.
    6. Ye I suppose it is, I like to read to block out the world sometimes, but then it has to be books I love, usually HP (a little obsessed I know).
    7. I don’t really remember quotes just little parts and feelings, but I did love this one from Hex Hall.
    “But this room looked like it had been decorated by the unholy lovechild of Barbie and Strawberry Shortcake.”
    8. I prefer reading inside, I live in Scotland, don’t think I need more reasoning than that.
    9. No I don’t actually, I sometimes want to learn what they are learning e.g. Magic 🙂
    10. No I don’t think I would change an ending, the author obviously thinks it’s the best course of action of their character so who am I to say different?

    I have one question for you, what is sweet tea? Is it just tea with sugar or is it something in it’s own right?
    Emma 🙂

  2. Sweet tea is, yeah, basically sugar in tea. But in the south, it’s usually a lot of sugar. Like, think 10% tea, 90% sugar.

Leave a Reply

