The Forever Song

The Forever Song (Blood of Eden, #3)

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Vengeance will be hers.

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

Monster.

Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions – her creator Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost – the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie.

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, her triumph will be short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

THE FINAL HUNT IS ON.

One word.

Jackal.

I just freakin’ love Jackal.

Honestly, the only, only reason I gave this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars was because of Jackal and (somewhat) Kanin. And the fact that Sarren finally, finally dies in the best possible way.

Case in point (via the amazing Jackal):

“Oh, isn’t that sweet,” came Jackal’s loud, mocking voice… “Let’s make goo-goo eyes at each other in the middle of a stinking corpse field, how very romantic.”

 

“Go ahead, tell him that everything is going to be fine. All the meatsacks are perfectly content on their happy little island, Sarren has given up world destruction to raise kittens, and the magic wish fairy will wave her wand and turn shit to gold.”

 

“I’m still going to eat them. How much is going to depend on how seriously they piss me off by the time I get in there.”

image

image

What made this book so good was Jackal’s role in it. He’s constantly there to tell Allie off and make witty remarks about the whole situation that makes one wonder why the whole series doesn’t revolve around him.

Allie, on the other hand . . .

On one hand, I like her that way. She’s pretty real, but there are times when it’s just like, the girl needs to get her crap together. This woe is me act is getting a little distasteful, and, honestly, I only cared to read about her in the hopes Jackal would tell her off in that delicious way that he does. I swear, if the world wasn’t about to s*** bricks even more so because of the insane Sarren, Allie would just fall apart. I get it. She loves Zeke. I really do. And I can’t blame her; he’s pretty great. But the second she’s not with him, Allie goes all ballistic, hormonal, whiny teenage vampire girl on us. And, you know what, fine. She’s entitled to that since she thinks he’s dead. TO AN EXTENT. But noooooo . . . instead, the first 1/3 of the book is wholly dedicated to her self-pity.

Never mind that the world is going:

image

But never mind that little matter, Allie just wants to:

image

image

image

THE WHOLE 1/3 OF THE FREAKIN’ BOOK.

And then there’s Zeke. (I literally just sat here for a whole minute trying to remember what his name was.) I just don’t care about him. He’s boorrrriiinnnggggg. All I remember about him is that he broods for a good portion of the book, then makes out with Allie, then gets all mushy on me.

And then Jackal pops in, saves the day, and says:

“Puppy, I am getting so tired of listening to you whine about this,” he snarled at Zeke. “This isn’t rocket science. If you don’t want to be a monster, don’t be a bloody monster! Be an uptight stick in the mud like Kanin. Be a self-righteous bleeding heart like Allison. Or you can stop agonizing about it and be a fucking monster.”

 

YES.

The other character I loved was Kanin. He’s sooo . . . weird.

This whole family scenario Allie, Jackal, and Kanin have going on is a little strange, but I still loved it. For the past few books I felt that Kanin was a pretty interesting character, but in this one, well . . . all I can remember is that he’s playing the role of the tired father of two annoying children.

I swear, all of his lines revolved around, Stop fighting you two, Hands and swords to yourselves, Allison and James, or, my personal favorite, either you two stop bickering or, so help me, I’m turning this car around.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 star books

Leave a Reply

