Perfect Lies

Perfect Lies (Mind Games, #2)

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Annie and Fia are ready to fight back.

The sisters have been manipulated and controlled by the Keane Foundation for years, trapped in a never ending battle for survival. Now they have found allies who can help them truly escape. After faking her own death, Annie has joined a group that is plotting to destroy the Foundation. And Fia is working with James Keane to bring his father down from the inside.

But Annie’s visions of the future can’t show her who to trust in the present. And though James is Fia’s first love, Fia knows he’s hiding something. The sisters can rely only on each other – but that may not be enough to save them.

Maybe I’m the only one to do this – I don’t know – but whenever I read a book, for some inexplicable reason, I always latch onto one/sometimes two characters. I don’t know why this happens, but it almost always happens. And usually what makes it or breaks it for me in a book is how well depicted that character is. It doesn’t even have to be a main character – it could be the freakin’ hamster in the background for all I care, but my mind has a way of latching onto the little hamster that has 1.3 worth of page time in the 300 page novel and all I care about is if Miles the Hamster gets a playmate at some point. And if he doesn’t, well, prepare yourself, ’cause Hannah’s about to flip some-

Okay, so maybe that’s a little embellished. You’ll be happy to know that there is no Miles the Hamster in Perfect Lies. But what – or who – there is, is Fia.

I just love Fia.

Perfect Lies, and the first in the series, are written in split POV, switching from Annie to Fia, the two gifted sisters. And this is one of those cases where I would be oh-so happy to completely skip Annie’s POV chapters and only read Fia’s. I just don’t really like Annie. She’s blind, and while that in itself should be interesting to read about, I just don’t think it’s done well.

And okay, okay, obviously I’m not blind, so who am I to judge, right? But here’s the thing, I recently had a discussion about this exact topic, and I would think that if someone who’s been blind their whole life would have probably come to rely on their other senses a bit more, right? So, what got me about Annie was that she never picks up on little things about the people who are always around her, like what they smell like or what they sound like, and if I was blind, I know I would get annoyed at the fact that I don’t always know what’s going on around me, so I personally would try to find distinguishing things about a person, something to alert me to when they enter the room, etc . . . But Annie never really does that. Instead, she’s always asking people around her to notify her whenever they enter the room, and after a while, it was just a little . . . unbelievable.

But Fia, on the other hand, was perfection. I think this novel should be renamed The Perfect Lies of Fia. Just cut Annie out all together. Please.

image

How Fia thinks, acts, and is written about is a little like Juliette from Shatter Me. The writing isn’t all encompassing like in Shatter Me, but it has the same feel of insanity, and I love it.

And then there’s James. I like James. That’s probably pretty controversial, but I like the guy. Is he playing his own games with Fia? Definitely. Does he have good intentions? Umm . . . maybe. Is he hot? I think so. Is he a bit too like his father? Yup.

But, hey, who ever said the guy had to be perfect?

But what I like the most about James and Fia’s relationship is that there’s always that reminder that she could kill him without a second thought, but she also needs him, because he’s what feels right, what holds her together.

image

But what I love, love the most about him, is that he’s no match for Fia. To give him credit, no one is. But he will never have the upper hand if Fia doesn’t want him to, and I love that about them both.

Will Fia kill him? Yes, if she feels she needs to. Will she loose her mind? It’s likely. Does she love him? Most definitely.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

