Cress

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

I am not a huge fan of this series, as it seems the rest of the YA community is. The first in the series, Cinder, was so-so to me. The second installment, Scarlet, was better, but still mwah. Which is strange, considering all the books in the series are re-workings of childhood stories and I am known to love re-writings of childhood stories. (Cinder:  Cinderella. Scarlet: Little Red Ridding Hood. Cress: Rapunzel. Winter: Snow White.)

It wasn’t that I hated the first two, or even particularly disliked them. I read them, and then forgot about them (that is, until everyone started to loose their minds over the series). They simply ran through the river that is my mind into the grand sea of YA memories.

But, because I am me, I of course was going to finish the series. Not because they’re popular, but because I really have to admire the creativity they are and the writing style that goes with it. Props to the author.

And I really liked this installment, much more than the first two. I liked Cress, oddly enough, much more than Cinder or Scarlet. This is odd to me, because I usually prefer the strong, can take care of themselves, kind of heroines. More like Scarlet. And Cress is the exact opposite of all that. She’s been alone since she was seven (yes, seven) in a satellite in space. Because of this, she’s imaginative to the extreme (I’d like to read whatever Cress might write in the future) and makes herself an actress to get through difficult situations she goes through to survive in this installment.

Part of the reason, I have to admit, that I liked this novel much more than the others is because of Cress and Thorne.

(*stares into space*)

Thorne.

image

image

I liked that Cress has a crush on Thorne from the beginning, I liked that Thorne obviously fell for her almost right away but didn’t want to show it, I liked that Cress and Thorne were alone for a good part of the novel. I liked almost everything about their relationship, even though I know that almost any other time I would have been irritated at Cress for falling so easily for Thorne, for Thorne being an idiot about liking Cress, for a lot of things, but for some reason I don’t understand, it worked very well here.

“Captain,” she murmured. “I think I’m in love with you.”
An eyebrow shot up. She counted six beats of his heart before, suddenly, he laughed. “Don’t tell me it took you two whole days to realize that. I must be losing my touch.” 

image

I kind of want to puke and/or swoon. My body is indecisive!!

I liked that even though Cress is naïve and young and fragile and a complete wimp, she also has her strong suits, like knowing just what to say and/or exactly what not to say. She’s not stupid. In fact, you could even say she’s a little bit of a genius. A naïve genius.

She’ll stick this journey out, thinking it as a grand, romantic adventure that will end with her and Thorne living happily ever after, and, man, you just have to give the girl props for keeping this hope alive no matter what crap comes her way. She is stubbornly naïve the whole way through. And there’s just something to admire about that.

And Thorne goes along with her fantasy, to an extent. Of course, he has to be witty and smug about it.

“I promise, I will not let you die without being kissed.”

image

(*nudge, nudge*) You know what that means, don’t cha??

I may or may not have done a little shimmy in my seat when I read that.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

