The Promise of Amazing

The Promise of Amazing

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who’s always done what she’s supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.

One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

I do not think this is as bad as everyone says it is. It was pretty good, actually, up until about 50% into it. Then it just goes downhill in a obliterating manner.

There is insta-love here. That’s part one of two of my issues with this book. I’m fine if the girl and guy are unusually pulled to each other from the very beginning – that attraction 101, isn’t it? – but what I have an issue with is when I’m being reminded again and again that there’s some invisible cord connecting the two of them and that it’s like two magnets being pulled together.

Someone put me out of my misery now, please.

But while that’s there, and the L-word does get thrown out too quickly for my taste, there is some nice romance going on between Wren and Grayson.

I cleared my throat. “And you could tutor me in algebra and trig?”

He was about to take a sip of his coffee, but he paused, the side of his mouth curling up, eyebrows arcing slightly. The gleam in his eyes made me blush.

“I could tutor you in anything you want,” he answered, voice low.

Grayson got me at times. Most of these times happened during the first half of the novel.

But the L-word getting thrown out so quickly also did it for me. Why is it that in so many books that center around teenagers who meet, fall in love (supposedly. It’s up for debate), have to say it so fast? It can wait, ya know. Because I sure wasn’t feeling it.

Attraction? Yes.

Crazy hormones? Of course.

Love? Nuno.

Grayson was probably my favorite character. While he’s done some pretty douche things in the past, he’s still paying for them, and he honestly regrets them all. He wants to truly change, and the reason he wants to change doesn’t just center around his love for Wren, but he wants to change simply because he’s growing up, which is, ya know, kind of rare to find in teenage guys in books.

And then there’s Wren. She’s the quiet girl, and while this is such a HUGE deal to her, and it’s practically all she thinks about (sans Grayson, of course) she makes almost no moves to change it.

And what’s so bad about being a quiet girl anyways? So what if your teacher’s biggest complaint about you is that you should speak up more? That’s not bad. I should know since I was that girl in high school. And guess what? When you’re that girl, life is a lot easier too. Because you don’t involved in stupid teenage drama. That doesn’t mean that you’re boring or that nothing fun and exciting is ever going to happen to you; it’s not like you’re a freakin’ hermit.

The other reason this novel just died for me was the ending. It was ridiculously uneventful and stupid. I felt like it was the very bad ending to a soap opera. NOTHING EFFING HAPPENED. And with how the book lead up, it just can’t end like it did without it feeling like a cop-out.

Also, I don’t get the title. The Promise of Amazing? I was actually waiting for there to be some link in the book to the title, but there was none. It’s one of those titles that makes me think that the author had to come up with one at the last minute, and so this is what happened.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

