City of Heavenly Fire

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

I’m actually really happy with how this ended. The series, to me, went on for far too long, with too long breaks in between the books coming out. And this always sucks because then I forget practically everything that happened in the last book in the series and I’m trying to remember how it left off when starting the new installment.

My major complaint would have to be that this is just too long of a book. I did wiz through it in under two days (it’s 725 pages) but around the end it just felt that it was dragging on. Once the gang descends to the underworld, there’s just not enough going on and it’s taking them too much time to just find Sebastian.

Along with it dragging out when they’re all in hell, after they defeat Sebastian, there is practically another 100 pages of them just trying to get back home and then talking FOREVER about what happened afterwards and then Clare has to introduce Tessa and Jem again, etc, etc, . . . And I just wanted it to end. It’s a beautiful ending, have no doubt, but it just went on FOREVER.

I also felt like Clare was using a good amount of this book to start to introduce characters and get a plot going for her next series. NO. JUST NO. You just can’t do that.  I’m reading this book to find out what happens to Clary and Jace and Simon and Sebastian. STOP GIVING ME NEW INFORMATION ABOUT NEW CHARACTERS WOMAN. I’m still just trying to remember what happened in the last two installments.

Also, Sebastian has a very small role in this. Which doesn’t sit well with me because, well, he’s, ya, know, THE BAD GUY. Kind of the whole reason this series even continued after the third book. And I really liked reading about him. But he had a much larger role in the fifth book in the series.

He’s just so BAD, guys. Not Darkling or Warner bad, but really, really, really BAD. There’s no way he’s getting redeemed.

But I still kind of love him.

I love him in the way that he has no redeemable qualities, and Clare doesn’t try to give him any. We’re meant to hate him, be disgusted by him, but, man, is he a joy to read about.

I felt like most of this book was simply there to talk about the relationships. ALL TWENTY OF THEM. I’m all for good, relatable side characters, but there were almost too many. Too many relationships and loves that needed to be fixed in this last book, and honestly, at this point I just don’t really care. I just want to read about the Dark War and Sebastian and the main characters.

And then there are the long, long, LONG soliloquies every character seems to give at one point or another.

They just need to stop.

If this were a Shakespearian tragedy, then go right ahead with your soliloquy Hamlet, but Jace gives them, Clary gives them, Magnus gives them, EVERYONE gives them.  

“Weapons,” said Jace. “I like weapons.”

“I’m starting to think we have a problematic issue of personal philosophy here.”

Jace leaned forward, his palms flat on the ground. “I’m a warrior,” he said. “I was brought up as a warrior. I didn’t have toys, I had weapons. I slept with a wooden sword until I was five. My first books were medieval demonologies with illuminated pages. The first songs I learned were chants to banish demons. I know what brings me peace, and it isn’t sandy beaches or chirping birds in rainforests. I want a weapon in my hand and a strategy to win.”

Jordan looked at him levelly. “So you’re saying that what brings you peace … is war.”

“Now you get it.” 

STOP IT JACE. JUST STOP IT.

There is plenty of humor in this as well, which I don’t remember so much in the previous installments. Much of it – surprisingly – does not come from Jace.

“WHY DOES THIS KEEP HAPPENING?” There was a sound of shattering glass, and they both sat up to see Alec glaring at them. He had dropped the empty bottle of wine he had been carrying, and there were bits of sparkly glass all over the cave floor. “WHY CAN’T YOU GO SOMEWHERE ELSE TO DO THESE HORRIBLE THINGS? MY EYES.”

“It’s a demon realm, Alec,” Isabelle said. “There’s nowhere for us to go.”

“And you said I should look after her-” Simon began, then realized that would not be a productive line of conversation, and shut up.

The ending was very satisfying to me. It’s not a happy ending so much, but it felt right. Don’t expect everything in the world of Shadowhunters to be completely fixed at the end of this novel, because it’s not even close. (Which, I’m sure, is Clare’s way of leading into a new series and new problems.) It’s not a sad ending, but also not a perfect one.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

