Teardrop

Teardrop (Teardrop, #1)

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Never, ever cry… Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

I just want to get it out there that I did not have expectations for this book. Well . . . at least not good ones. I had mediocre to poor expectations. I’m talking I was completely expecting to want to spit in the main male character’s face a few pages in, just like in Fallen. But here’s the good news:

It surpassed my expectations!

But just barely.

First issue with book: Ander.

I take that back. Actually, he’s the main issue.

First chapter is in his POV, and I literally groaned out loud when I started thinking that this book was going to be written in split POV between Ander and Eureka. No. Just no. Lauren Kate, please never write a book in a guy’s POV. Like, ever again.

The good news is that that’s the only chapter written in his POV. The rest is Eureka’s. (Except the last chapter, but that’s a different matter.)

He’s so freakin’ possessive. Like, not the cute kind, where he just always wants to hold Eureka’s hand or something, but the icky kind that makes my brain go off in red flashes of “STALKER ALERT. STALKER ALERT.”

He’s about to watch her die, given the choice of saving the world or saving Eureka.

GUESS WHAT HE CHOOSES?

Never mind that he’s never talked to her, that she has no idea who he even is. But never mind all that. This guy’s been watching her her whole life – without her knowing, of course.

Yep.

Also? There’s no connection between Ander and Eureka WHATSOEVER. It was like reading about the relationship between peanut butter and jelly. They can go together on a sandwich and be somewhat tasty, but after a while you just start hating those two put together. (Both have the brains of peanut butter and jelly too.) The only difference is that there is no portion of time where Eureka and Ander are good together.

When Eureka finally does find out about his existence, anyone want to guess what happens?

“She did like looking at him. She liked the way his hand felt and his voice sounded.”

I am so glad that your whole attraction is based on his physical attributes. So, so very glad. This is what we’re teaching the kids of today ladies and gentlemen: attraction = physical appearance.

Not to mention Eureka then does some very questionable things all based on his looks. “Hey, this guy’s hot and is obviously into me to the point of following me everywhere, knowing everything about me, and lying to me about who he is, so it’s a great idea to follow him randomly away from a crowd and into some secluded bushes!”

“I’m not stalking you.” Ander cut her off, but his tone was unconvincing. “I’m observing you. There’s a difference.”

Suuuuuuurrrrrrreeeeeee there is.

And then there’s stupid Eureka. I say “stupid,” painfully. Because at the beginning of the book, I had some hope that she wasn’t going to be a completely dumbstruck teenage girl in love. But nope. That’s too much to hope for anymore.

“You were a lot cuter before you started talking to me,” she shouted back at him, “when you were just a guy who hit my car.”

“You think I’m cute?”

“Not anymore!”

I’m so glad you’ve just told everyone that what you judge on “cuteness” is wholly based on his looks. Because, Lord forbid he actually be an interesting human being who also has a fine jaw line. Psshhh.  That never happens!

Because, yes Eureka, Ander was much more attractive when you didn’t know his name, saw him in random places that you happen to be with no explanation in sight, and when you have more questions then you can handle.

You silly goose!

Oh, and can we talk (read: laugh) at the names for a moment? Eureka. Ander. I wanted to gouge my eyes out every time I read those names. Mostly Ander’s name. And Eureka? I get that an author wants to have characters with cool and different names, and while I appreciate that not every character had a run-of-the-mill name (no offense intended) that you can find in dozens of books, there is such a thing as going too far with trying to come up with a unique name.

Let’s also talk about Eureka’s complete lack of a brain. When random guy (Ander) is all of a sudden following you and giving you messages such as “you’re in danger” and “your best friend wants to kill you,” a proper response (I would hope) would be to slowly back away and get to a crowded place. Quickly.

But what does Eureka do?

She thinks about how hot Ander is.

Again. And again. And again.

Need I go on?

The good in this novel though, would have to be the writing and the scenes. That’s what mostly saved this novel for me. I’ve lived in Louisiana before, and while I did not particularly like it there (read: hated it, loathed it with a passion. Ran away given chance), Kate writes about it quite well. There was no complaint there.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

