Tiger’s Destiny

Tiger's Destiny (The Tiger Saga, #4)

Rating: 2 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

With three of the goddess Durga’s quests behind them, only one prophecy now stands in the way of Kelsey, Ren, and Kishan breaking the tiger’s curse. But the trio’s greatest challenge awaits them: A life-endangering pursuit in search of Durga’s final gift, the Rope of Fire, on the Andaman Islands in the Bay of Bengal.  It’s a race against time–and the evil sorcerer Lokesh–in this eagerly anticipated fourth volume in the bestselling Tiger’s Curse series, which pits good against evil, tests the bonds of love and loyalty, and finally reveals the tigers’ true destinies once and for all. 

Kelsey . . . Kelsey . . . My dear, I think it would be in both yours and my best interest if I slapped you right now.

That is all.

“On the inside, though, I was empty. I had nothing to give him. My goal in life would be to make him believe I had absolutely no regrets about my choice. To pretend that I was whole. Complete.”

I feel like the reviews for this series have turned into “Hannah’s dating and love advice,” which is pretty sad.

First off, you should not have to pretend to be in love with someone. There is a distinct difference between loving someone and being in love with someone, and, sweetheart, the line is pretty clear from where I’m standing.

Love should not be based on what you can give someone because the biggest thing you’re giving them is yourself, wholly and completely. If you’re thinking that you have nothing to give, then that means you’re not in love with them. That doesn’t mean you don’t love them and it doesn’t even mean you don’t see them in a romantic light, but it does mean at that moment you’re not right for each other.

It is NOT a healthy relationship if you have to pretend to love them or having to hope that one day you’ll be able to return the amount of love they give to you. You can’t just put hope on that, because then you’re simply trying to make yourself feel something you don’t, and it’s just not going to work.

“Loving Kishan wasn’t the problem.”

I beg to differ.

I ticked off his traits in my head. Kishan is kind, handsome, brave, a good kisser, strong, he gives great massages, and he loves me.”

Now this is just getting pathetic.

You are trying way too hard to make yourself feel something you don’t, Kelsey. And if you have to check off things about them that are appealing to you, then something is fundamentally wrong already. You should just love him . . . because you love him. It shouldn’t have to do with how good of massages he gives (though, that is a veeerrrryyy nice trait).

If it’s not already blatantly obvious, this was my least favorite novel of the series. I felt like every character changed dramatically, had no real character development (at least not in any good ways), and they all just get slapped around. I got board reading it, and that hadn’t happened with any of the previous installments.

Looking back, the first one is my obvious favorite, flaws included. I was hoping so much that there wasn’t going to be this love triangle between the two brothers, but, hoping so much that there wasn’t going to be this love triangle alas, I had my hopes dashed.

I was hoping Kelsey was going to grow up, that she was going to stop with this “I’m so plain and Ren deserves a Barbie-like girl” crap. But it never ends. She’s saying that until the last page.

All in all, I just felt like all the characters got supremely screwed over. The last fifty pages just blatantly pissed me off, and I was seriously thinking about just throwing the book at the wall.

Honestly, I got attached to this series. More than I was expecting. And now, I feel like I’ve just been broken up with by the characters. I feel betrayed, stabbed, and all around sad for them all.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

