Starling

Starling (Secrets of the Eternal Rose, #3)

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

The dark, seductive conclusion to the thrilling Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy!

In the final book in the trilogy, Cass and Luca are back in Venice trying to find the Book of the Eternal Rose to clear Luca’s name and keep them both out of prison. But the hunters become the hunted when the Order of the Eternal Rose figures out their plan. Filled with twists and turns, danger and torrid romances, this novel brings the Secrets of the Eternal Rose novels to a thrilling, heart-pounding, sexy conclusion.

What the synopsis leaves out is something crucial. What it leaves out can change your decision on whether to pick up this book or not. What it leaves out can be found on the inside of the cover jacket at the very bottom.

“Who will fly besides her when she finally finds her wings?”

Think bird-girl.

Yes, everyone. This is really there.

What? You say you didn’t realize that finding true love meant growing wings and flying sky-high? Well, aren’t you a silly, naïve little wingless bird!

I died when reading that. I really did.

I have the same problems with this book as I do with it’s predecessors. Cass is freakin’ stupid. I’ve seen some stupid heroines in my day, and while she is nowhere near the worst (*cough*The Selection*cough*), she gets on my nerves.

Honestly, the girl would probably be a decent heroine if not for the love triangle. She’s not particularly whiny or annoying besides the fact that she just can’t seem to choose between Falco and Luca. The bad-boy and the good-boy. The annoying, prejudiced one or the kind, understand one.

Which one do you think she’s been drooling over for the last two books?

Effing Falco.

Even though it’s quite obvious who she should end up with. But nope. Cass is too bloody difficult and stubborn to see that the boy she’s been engaged to since she was born, the one who doesn’t ask anything of her, the one who’s not continuously trying to get into her pants, is actually a decent guy. But nooooo. The girl has to be forever indecisive of who she wants. When she’s with one boy, she wants him; when she’s with the other, she wants him.

It’s so annoying. Not to mention selfish.

Now, I want to make it clear that not all the blame lays on Cass. The boys are also pretty stupid – and by boys, I actually just mean Falco. Because Lord knows poor Luca has been pushed to the side throughout the whole series.

Seriously. Compare the time spent with Falco compared with Luca. It’s a landslide.

But Cass . . . Cass. Pick a boy already.

“You are so much more than I deserve.”

I agree.

The girl needs to get her priorities straight. Does she want a boy who loves her endlessly and is simple to be with, one who she knows she can always trust or does she want a flightily, reckless boy that she can’t talk to without arguing with (but who happens to give smothering kisses that take up countless page space).

What is so unappealing about ending up with the good guy? I mean, really?

If it was me, I would have punched Falco a long time ago (possibly in a certain region) and run far, far away. He’s a douche, simple as that.

Now, what saved this book for me was the ending. One, because it was . . . well . . . the ending. And two, because it has a different outcome than I was expecting. One that I’m still upset with for different reasons, but one that did, indeed, surprise me, and I have to give it credit for that.

I felt like the author simply wanted the book to be done with, and she changed her mind at the last minute on some very important parts of the story. It didn’t fit quite right, and while I do think Cass finally grew a brain in this book, it was almost too late to redeem her in my eyes.

She should have figured out which boy she loved a long time ago, and to suddenly choose at the very end just felt . . . uneventful. Any joy I could have gotten out from it was blemished by the fact that it literally happens during the last, like, twenty pages. And it’s too late by then for me to even care.

No hoots were given over this ending.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

