Silver Shadows

Silver Shadows (Bloodlines, #5)

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists.

Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their way back to each other. But first, they have to survive.

For Sydney, trapped and surrounded by adversaries, life becomes a daily struggle to hold on to her identity and the memories of those she loves. Meanwhile, Adrian clings to hope in the face of those who tell him Sydney is a lost cause, but the battle proves daunting as old demons and new temptations begin to seize hold of him. . . .

Their worst fears now a chilling reality, Sydney and Adrian face their darkest hour in this heart-pounding fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where all bets are off.

I AM EXCITE. I AM SO EXCITE RIGHT NOW.

I cannot. I simply cannot. It is too much for my ovaries.

OKAY.

Did I tell you? I AM EXCITE.

I’ve been looking forward to this for a good part of the summer, and man, I wasn’t disappointed.

Okay, so I think I’ve made it kind of obvious if you know me that I read really fast. Like, it’s normal for me to finish a 300+ page book in about two days (give or take). But for the books I really, really love? I finish them in a day, no matter what the length is.

I kept on telling myself, “Okay, Hannah, you have to pace yourself. Make sure you’re reading every word. Make it last for at least another day. You just got it today; you cannot finish it today.”

I lie to myself.

I tried. I really did. I wanted this to last for two days, but, alas, the world is not a wish granting factory.

If this is not already blatantly obvious, I really, really liked this book. I’m trying to decide if it’s my favorite of the series, but I can’t decide. What I do know is that this so much better than the Vampire Academy series. Yep, I said it.

I like it when Sydney is working on a thousand and one things for school and helping and protecting Jill, Eddie, and Adrian. I liked it when she was juggling loving Adrian and being the Alchemist’s poster child. I found it intriguing and intense. And I was worried that since the cliff-hanger of the last in the series that I was going to get bored with this book.

So was not the case.

Any hesitant feelings about Sydrian has been obliterated. I felt their romance and love grow so much in this novel, in such a way that is even extreme for a YA novel. Sydney and Adrian have made it onto one of my favorite-couples-of-all-time list. Their romance and love is intense, but it also feels pure. They’re best friends, and I love that. I love that Adrian isn’t some hormonal love monster who’s first thought with Sydney in bed is sex. He’s fully content to just be with her, not just being physical with her. Neither of them are ridiculously hormonal all the time, such is the case with many YA couples who are always trying to decide when to have sex. Adrian isn’t even thinking about it a lot of the time. He just wants to see Sydney and make sure she’s okay.

Both of them become very mature, romantically. They understand perfectly where they stand in each other’s eyes, and there is no annoying wondering if the other person feels the same way they do or might cheat on them or anything like that. They trust each other completely.

Adrian has seriously grown in my eyes. Yes, he still does some pretty stupid things in this novel, but he’s better at reeling himself back in. He doesn’t need Sydney pulling his ear to make him stop, instead he knows that what he’s doing isn’t the best idea and that Sydney wouldn’t approve, and it makes him want to be better. And (amazingly) it’s not just talk. Adrian acts on everything he sets his mind to.

“Are you in a suit?” I managed at last, my voice chocking up. “You didn’t have to dress up for me.”
“Quiet, Sage,” he said. “I’ll make the hilarious one-liners during this daring rescue.”  

Screw Dmitri. Give me Adrian, problems and all.

As some of you probably heard, there is A BIG THING that happens in this novel. Here’s my advice: DON’T BE SPOILED. It will be so worth being surprised, because Lord knows I never, ever, not in a million years, saw this coming. And it was fantastic.

I may or may not have gotten a little teary eyes and made some very undignified swooning noise.

I ADMIT NOTHING.

I was very impressed with how Sydney deals with being re-educated.  Some of the scenes are seriously brutal. They were very well written and impressive. How Sydney deals physically, mentally, and emotional is realistic, just are the aftereffects of it all as well. She’s not 100% okay, but she’s okay enough to focus on other things. She’s not necessarily ignoring what’s happening and what has happened, but she has enough faith and conviction to believe things will be okay, and this is only temporary.

Neither Adrian or Sydney underestimate each other. They both understand what the other is capable of, and trust each other enough to take care of problems by themselves. What I love so much about Adrian is that he does not underestimate Sydney. He doesn’t think he has to jump in front of her to protect her, because she’s capable of just as much as he is. Never once does Adrian wonder if Sydney is succumbing to the Alchemist’s ways to make her hate his kind. He knows she strong enough to power through, no matter what torments they put her through.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

