Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater OUT NOW!!!

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

Oh my.

As Stiefvater so aptly put it, there are two kinds of people in this world: fools and damn fools. And, gosh, I love my fools and damn fools.

I hope I’m a damn fool.

Blue and Gansey are heartbreakers. They really are. They hover around each other, close but never touching, hoping and dreading that the other will make the first move, the next pretend kiss, and it’s heartbreaking. I really want to grab the back of their heads and just smooch them together sometimes, just to end my pain and suffering.

"I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could." - BLue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater #RavenBoys #GanseyAndBlue

And yes, I do realize that Bad Things will most likely happen if/when they do kiss, but gosh darn it, IT’S TIME FOR SOME SMOOCHING.

Maggie Stiefvater never fails to impress me. Rarely (if ever) are there non-kissing scenes that can make me feel more in love with characters like this compared to actual kissing scenes. They are heartbreaking almost-kissing scenes that shred your heart and soul apart.

Gansey is my type of guy. He’s frustrating and complicated and incredibly genius and so very, very naïve about things, just as any apt human being is. He’s not macho like Ronan, not damaged like Adam, and on the outside seems to have everything and anything he could possibly want. He could have whoever and as many friends as he could possibly want, but he chooses the most unlikeliest of crew because he’s also the most unlikeliest of a person.

He’s obsessed.

He’s determined.

He’s so painfully in love.

He’s so very doomed.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater *Spoilers* "I don't know what I'll be if I'm not looking for him. I don't know the first thing about how to be that person again."

I love all of these characters. I’d have to say Blue and Gansey are my favorites, but not by much. I love (oddly enough) Noah almost more because he’s just as heartbreaking, just in a different way.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater *Spoilers* "That's exactly how I feel about the idea of being alive again."

I swear, if Noah gets pushed to the side and/or doesn’t get a happy ending (whatever that may be) I’m going to freaking loose it.

Noah doesn’t get nearly enough script time in this book, but the few scenes he does have killed me. Truly killed me (no pun intended). He’s a heartbreaking character that doesn’t have a partner to share in his heartbreak – not like Blue and Gansey – and that makes it all the worse.

He’s so lonely.

“There is no good word for the opposite of lonesome.
One might be tempted to suggest togetherness or contentment , but the fact that these two other words bear definitions unrelated to each other perfectly displays why lonesome cannot be properly mirrored. It does not mean solitude, nor alone, nor lonely, although lonesome can contain all of those words in itself. Lonesome means a state of being apart. Of being other.”

The Dream Thieves was basically all Ronan’s book, so this book seemed to spend more time on Blue and Gansey, which I loved. I loved The Dream Thieves so much, but I’m glad this wasn’t all Ronan’s story again. He doesn’t get pushed to the side, mind you, but he has equal time with the other characters.

Ronan’s so harsh and sharp on the outside, but as we saw in The Dream Thieves, he’s that way for reasons we now understand and love him all the more for it. He’s sharp on the outside and sharp on the inside and if you step too close it’s your own damn fault when you get cut.

But he cares so much for everyone else. Even Blue, though they fight more than anyone else. I think that it’s the fact that she will fight with him without fear that he likes so much and respects.

He’ll make any deal with the devil if it means saving any of them. He’ll create any impossible dream to save them even if it means he dies because of it. Even if it means he’ll loose a part of himself because of it.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Adam really grows here too. There were many times in the past two books where I became a little agitated with Adam and his darn pride. The boy just has so much of it. And, okay, yes, I can understand why he doesn’t want to take any money or gifts from Gansey or Ronan because he sees it as charity for his poor little self, but at the same time, it’s not like Gansey or Ronan are offering to buy him a freakin’ Mustang or something. They just want to help him out because he’s their friend and that’s what friends do when someone needs a little help.

But it made Adam feel so pathetic about himself. And I get that. I really do. But here, Adam finally starts to understand that it’s not charity they’re giving him, it’s not out of pity that they’re helping him. They want to help because they can help and it won’t hurt them and will help Adam. And I respect that.

But even with Adam’s hubris, he still loves the gang as much as every other character. He loves Gansey, Blue, Ronan, Noah. If something ever happened to any one of them, it would break him in a way that would never be able to mend itself properly back together.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

And that’s the most miraculous thing about these characters: They’re all in love with each other. Completely.

“You can be just friends with people, you know,” Orla said. “I think it’s crazy how you’re in love with all those raven boys.”

Orla wasn’t wrong, of course. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other. 

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

