Unmade

Unmade (The Lynburn Legacy, #3)

Rating: 3 (Freakin’ Furious) Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice?

Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied to a boy she does not, and faces an enemy more powerful than ever before. With Jared missing for months and presumed dead, Kami must rely on her new magical link with Ash for the strength to face the evil spreading through her town.

Rob Lynburn is now the master of Sorry-in-the-Vale, and he demands a death. Kami will use every tool at her disposal to stop him. Together with Rusty, Angela, and Holly, she uncovers a secret that might be the key to saving the town. But with knowledge comes responsibility—and a painful choice. A choice that will risk not only Kami’s life, but also the lives of those she loves most.

This final book in the Lynburn Legacy is a wild, entertaining ride from beginning to shocking end.

Let me just emphasis and repeat that last line of the synopsis (*coughs to clear throat*): “This final book in the Lynburn Legacy is a wild, entertaining ride from beginning to shocking end.

My reaction after reading this (apparently??!!??) “wild, entertaining ride” (said with great, great sarcasm that rivals that of Kami):

(FYI: This is going to be one of those rare reviews that I let it all out and let the curses fly. I am not light when this happens, so be warned to ye who enter.)

What the absolute fuck was that ending?!

What the absolute fuck is wrong with you Ms. Brennan?

I wanted one damn thing from you Ms. Brennan, one thing that had not even occurred to me to ask, because it seemed so blatantly obvious that you do not do this.

You had everything so freakin’ right up till now. Actually, no, that’s a lie. There were minor things I disagreed with, but as said before, they were all MINOR. Key word: MINOR.

Let me repeat:

MINOR.

Things easily overlooked. Things I noticed, gave a passing thought to, and got over.

But this?!?

This cannot be forgiven.

At this point, it’s probably pretty confusing as to why I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars. The thing is this was so very, very almost one of my favorite books of this year, a 5 star book for me. For the first good 2/3 of the book, it really was on my list. But then the unforgivable happened.

All that sweet, gloriously beautiful writing style and character depth that is so very, very difficult to find in good YA books now-in-days lost all favoritism in my mind. Want to know why?

Because someone died.

Okay, a lot of someones died. But this ONE BEAUTIFUL CREATURE THAT HAD MADE IT ONTO MY MOST-LOVABLE CHARACTER LIST has . . . has . . .

Oh, hell.

I lost it. I kept telling myself pretty little lies like, “No. There’s no way,” “She wouldn’t. She fucking wouldn’t dare,” and “Oh shit. Oh shit. Oh no no no no no no nuno. YOU DO NOT DO THIS TO ME.”

It’s the kind of death of a character that you love so much that your throat gets tight and you flip angrily (read: pathetically) through the last bit of the book, just to look for that character’s name to see if they miraculously come back alive. But alas, twas not my luck.

You know what I recommend to anyone thinking about reading this series?

DON’T.

Just. Don’t.

Even if you’ve already started the series, but put the book down now. I don’t care where you are or what’s going on or how broken your heart is, because it will get worse, trust me. And I do not think anyone deserves this kind of torment.

It’s not worth it. Yes, the writing is impeccable. Yes, the characters are everything you could want. Yes, the romance is light enough to be gut-wrenching and is nearly perfect.

And this character that I shall not name was my favorite. I loved this character. This character never failed to make me grin goofily and laugh, because, gosh darn it, this character had some – if not most – of the best effing lines.

But this is one of those characters that writers should just not be allowed to kill off. Or, if they do, said character comes back in a very magical way one way or another before the end of the book and/or series. But nooooo. This is the last of the series, and this character is very much dead.

WHERE IS MY VODKA???!!??

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 star books

Leave a Reply

