Demons at Deadnight

Demons at Deadnight (Divinicus Nex Chronicles, #1)

Rating: 3 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

For seventeen-year-old Aurora Lahey, survival is a lifestyle.

DEMONIC DESTINY
Aurora has the crappiest superpower on the planet. And it’s just unleashed a hit squad from hell. Demons are on the hunt, salivating to carve her carcass into confetti.

CHARISMATIC KILLERS
The Hex Boys–mysterious, hunky, and notorious for their trails of destruction–have the answers Aurora needs to survive. But their overload of deadly secrets and suspicious motives makes trusting them a potentially fatal move.

LETHAL ALLIES
The battle to save her family, herself, and stop demonic domination may cost Aurora everything worth living for, and force her to reveal her own dark secrets. But no worries. She needs the Hex Boys to pull this off, and, chances are, teaming up with these guys will get her killed anyway.

This could have been better. It really could have been.

We’ve got Aurora, who really is the perfect heroine. She’s witty, real laugh-out-loud funny, and, well . . . real. She’s clumsy, but smart. She’s not stupid female lead, while is always a relief. And what’s better is the “hottie” guys in the book aren’t your A-typical perfect-at-basically-everything kind of guys. They have their clumsy, human moments, which is something authors forget to add a lot of the time. They spend too much time making the love interests perfect in every way. They forget to make them trip every now and then, make them stumble over their words and do their own fair share of blushing. Sometimes guys in YA books are too busy being hotties to be human, and it’s gosh darn annoying.

“I launched into a graceful ninja-like front roll, then stood my ground to face the monstrous heathen, fearless in my determination to vanquish the deadly foe.

Nah, just kidding. I bolted, discretion being the better part of not getting dead.”  

(Ain’t it the truth.)

One of the major pros of this book is that even though it’s a YA romance novel, it also spends ample time making fun of all the typical YA romance stereotypes. Case in point: love triangles.

Oh, it has one all right. But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t spend some time making fun of it all the same.

Ayden and Blake stared each other down.
“Oh. My. God,” Luna blurted from Ayden’s back seat. “It’s a love triangle.”
We all looked at her like she’d sprouted an alien from her head. “It’s just like in a book. Two guys after one girl and-“
I groaned. “That’s ridiculous, Luna, this is not a love triangle.”
“Says the girl in the middle of a love triangle.” Luna ignored my protests and prattled on. “Not one Hexy Boy but two. I’ve got to call Danica. Oooo,” she squealed and clapped her hands, “We could have teams. Team Ayden and Team Blake. With T-shirt and buttons and-“
“I could make a website,” Lucian offered.
“No!” My voice pitched with panic. “No teams. No shirts. No-“
“I’ll get you some headshots,” Blake said, turning his profile towards Luna and Lucian. “I’ve been told the left is my best side. What do you think?”
“Aurora’s right,” Ayden said. “This is stupid. Blake, you can follow us-“
“Dude, you know no one would pick Team Ayden. You’re just jealous.”
“That’s not true. My team would be way bigger than yours.”
“Dare to dream, little man, dare to dream.”
“Care to make a wager on it?”
“Absolutely.”
“Fine. How about-“
“You two shut up!” I shoved myself out of the car.  

It’s funny. It’s comic relief at every turn.

But.

It had all the parts I love. But I still hated Ayden. I really did. Honestly? I didn’t like any of the Hex Boys. There was nothing there for me to really like. I’ve read their kind of characters before and I’m over it.

Somehow, this was missing that factor I need to love a book. I liked this, just didn’t love it.

The boys are all stuck up jerks. All holier-than-thou. I hate that kind of guy.  Can’t stand ’em. More times than not I had to put the book down to cool off at how badly I wanted to scream at Aurora to “run, girl, run!”  and beat those Hex Boys to a bloody pulp.

“Are you twins?”
“Yes. Very good.” Jayden nodded. “But not identical. Fraternal. We developed from two distinct eggs. Identical twins develop from the splitting of one egg and-“
“I know,” I said. “I’ve got a pair.”
“Of eggs?” Jayden said.
Ayden closed his eyes. I would’ve needed the Heimlich maneuver if I’d been eating.
“No.” I shook my head. “No, I-“
“Because you’ve got far more than two,” Jayden said in a lecturing tone. “In fact, girls are born with approximately two million eggs patiently awaiting puberty to-“
“Ooookay.” Ayden slung an arm around Jayden and gave him a rough squeeze. “Why don’t you leave something for Sex Ed class, huh?” He raised one finger and plastered on a smile. “Excuse us a minute.” He dragged Jayden down the hallway where they spoke in harsh whispers.

laughing gif animated GIF

They just keep coming.

“Ironic, is it not, that the great Divinicus Nex cowers in fear from that which should be her fated prey? A decidedly diametric circumstance.”

What? It’s irritating when the monster hunting you has a better vocabulary than your own. Maybe it could do my eulogy?”  

This took me a while to get through. Sure, it’s funny. A lot. (Hence, all the quotes.) But besides that, there was nothing about this I particularly liked.

Honestly? Had Aurora just gone up to freakin’ Matthias and slugged him in the face, I would have probably given this another star.

And I don’t mean some little girl slap or something that would hurt her more than it would hurt him. I mean a good ‘ol punch to the face. Maybe break his nose for extra brownie points.

I’ll admit it: I have a temper. And I was considering Aurora a freakin’ Saint near the middle of the book with all the crap she was dealing from Matthias. I really would have throttled the guy by then.

But, hey. She does throw a knife his way. Gotta give the girl some credit for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 star books

Leave a Reply

