A Cold Legacy

A Cold Legacy (The Madman's Daughter, #3)

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

After killing the men who tried to steal her father’s research, Juliet—along with Montgomery, Lucy, Balthazar, and a deathly ill Edward—has escaped to a remote estate on the Scottish moors. Owned by the enigmatic Elizabeth von Stein, the mansion is full of mysteries and unexplained oddities: dead bodies in the basement, secret passages, and fortune-tellers who seem to know Juliet’s secrets. Though it appears to be a safe haven, Juliet fears new dangers may be present within the manor’s own walls.

Then Juliet uncovers the truth about the manor’s long history of scientific experimentation—and her own intended role in it—forcing her to determine where the line falls between right and wrong, life and death, magic and science, and promises and secrets. And she must decide if she’ll follow her father’s dark footsteps or her mother’s tragic ones, or whether she’ll make her own.

With inspiration from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman’s Daughter trilogy is about the things we’ll sacrifice to save those we love—even our own humanity.

On one hand, I’m ecstatic. On the other, I’m disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong – I freakin’ loved this novel. But, also, it did not live up to my expectations.

I was obsessed with Her Dark Curiosity. It was amazingly good, one of my top reads of last year. I loved Juliet and her ruthlessness. I loved Edward and his insanity and the Beast.

“The Beast had been a monster. He’d been a murderer. And yet on some terrible, deep level, he had been the only one to truly understand me.”

And Montgomery . . . mawh.

And we still have Juliet and her ruthlessness, but here, she makes some real stupid decisions. Like really, really, stupid. In the last book, I could justify almost all of her choices. Many where made when she had a bad and worse option, and, really, I can’t judge her decisions because no matter how bad the outcome may have been (*coughbloodycoughsoverybloodycough*), I probably would have done the same. For the other decisions she makes, well, I also can’t be angry at her, because what’s a good heroine if she doesn’t screw up sometimes?

But here . . . some of the things Juliet does has left the land of questionable and gone into the realm of just so freakin’ ridiculously stupid. Keeping secrets from her betrothed, lying to the woman who has saved her and given her a place to stay, dabbling in the forces that be in life and death . . . it’s so stupid.

The questions of mortality and where the line should be between saving someone and bring them back from the dead were impressive. It’s not so cut-and-dry here, and even though if you asked me if there was ever a reason to bring someone back from the dead, I’d say without hesitation no way, no how is it ever okay, not even if I loved them. I’m a pretty firm believer in the dead should stay dead, no matter who they are.

But then we get people dying who shouldn’t have died, character’s that even I’m attached to, and the process to bring them back is so, so very easy. It doesn’t take long, doesn’t even feel wrong or evil. It feels like any kind of surgery a doctor might give a patient to take out their appendix when they have appendicitis. Nothing about it feels wrong . . . well, except that the person on the table is stiff and very, very dead.

I’m a science person – my major in college is science related, I love the human body and knowing every part of it. I’m a nerd in that way. I love knowing what’s right underneath the skin and what does what. And, man, it’s so difficult to find an accurate YA book about science and the human body.

This is a gory book. It’s a gory, bloody series about a madwoman with a scalpel, and I freakin’ love it.

There is no glossing over details of a surgery or cutting out a part of the brain in the occipital lobe. It’s all detailed, and gosh darn it, I was smiling the whole time. So I get Juliet in that sense, where a person’s curiosity is sometimes too much to bare.

And that’s why I loved Her Dark Curiosity so much.

There was just so much blood and gore.

I loved that killing for Juliet is easy. Is she insane? Maybe a little bit. But she still has a sense of right and wrong. She still has morals. But she doesn’t hide away from her dark side here. It helps her.

My biggest issue with this installment was the lack of Edward in it. I loved the Beast and Edward. I loved the relationship Juliet had with both characters and that’s a big reason I loved the last installment so much. It contained mostly Juliet and Edward moments.

But now . . we get Montgomery.

Mawh.

I got nothing against the guy, except his treatment of Juliet. I mean, I get where he’s coming from, having been with her father for so long and having to see the things her father once did to his experiments. But he just can’t get away from the fact that Juliet is his daughter and that she, yes, has a dark side much like her father. But he always seems to fail to see that Juliet has morals. She questions everything she does, frets over everything she does and wondering if she’s going to end up like her father.

Also, Montgomery’s so . . . boring. He felt like a cookie cutter boy from so many other YA novels. Nothing about him stands out.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

