Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2)

Rating: 2 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Le sigh.

So. One of these, huh?

I know I wrote a review for Anna and the French Kiss, and it wasn’t exactly a positive review, but this. This was horrid.

This was so bad, and the only good parts were when Anna and St. Clair showed up. I now want to go back and re-read Anna and the French Kiss to remember what it was that I didn’t like so much about it. Because I remember that I thought it was cute, but my biggest issue was that it felt like St. Clair was a cheater (not a cheater on Anna, obviously, but on his girlfriend when he meets Anna), and I have very little pity for cheaters.

And – guess what? – here it wasn’t the guy, Cricket (I know, I know. We’ll get to that name later), who was the cheater, but the girl, Lola. Because she’d already dating someone. Someone who she thinks is the one (le barf).

Firstly, I have an issue with any book that seriously talks about the one. Not because I’m anti-romantic or anything, but just because when it’s a sixteen/seventeen-year-old girl talking about the one, who also so happens to be her first boyfriend ever and who she lost her virginity to, it just irks me to no end.

I get it. I’m a girl who’s just getting out of her teenage years, and I get it. Not because I ever thought I was dating the one or anything (in fact, I never dated in high school), but because I understand teenage girl hormones and the absolute crap it does to your brain. I get it. I do.

However, that’s not an excuse to be this stupid.

Now, Lola and Cricket never kiss or anything while she’s dating her current boyfriend, Max. But they flirt and they make doe eyes at each other, and they think about each other and they want each other, and frankly, it pisses me off. But not because they feel this way for each other. That’s whatever. My issue is that Lola is not truthful about her feelings. Does it suck that she’s crushing on the guy who hurt her when they were pre-teens? Yeah, it does. But that’s life. And she should have been talking about it to Max. She should have been frank with him from the beginning, but instead she lies to herself and everyone else.

That’s not be saying that Lola should dump Max the second her teenage hormones start going haywire for Cricket. That’s normal. Teenagers could be positive they’re in love with one boy one week, and the next be in love with another. But when it got to the point where she waited for Cricket, where she overanalyzed everything he did or said, well, it’s time to call it quits with the boyfriend.

To be clear, Cricket (oh my gosh, how is that seriously his name?) is frank with Lola. He likes her. Yes, he was a jerk when they were pre-teens and he hurt her, but this freakin’ girl. She has obsessed over this boy and how he hurt her for years. Firstly, that’s messed up and I wish I could recommend a good therapist for the girl.

Yes, it sucked that he hurt you, Lola. But guess what? You both were, what, fifteen when this happened? For hell’s bells sack, get over it. Go through a pack of Thin Mints and cry while watching Titanic or The Notebook and be done with it. Move on. People are stupid when they’re young, and crap happens.

But now Cricket comes back, and he’s sorry he was a jerk, but he likes her, he’s always liked her. And Lola had always liked him. She never got over him. But she still has been dating Max, who she lost her virginity to. So. He’s the one.

Firstly, let’s get one thing straight: Max is a little piece of *bleep* and a *bleep*

It’s not that young, naïve little girls think their first boyfriend is the one that bothers me on principle (well . . .). It’s that so many times the guy is an absolute jerk.

Sure, Max is nice to Lola’s family. But to her friends? He’s awful. And he may be polite to her family, but he’s twenty-two when Lola is seventeen and they met when she was sixteen, and thinks he’s hot s***. Firstly, that’s not legal. And it’s not legal for a reason, Lola. Because girls like you make poor, poor decisions. Starting with the fact she lied about her age when they first met.

My gosh.

Lola makes mistake after mistake, and almost always the protagonist will make a crap decision here and there. That’s normal. That’s life, really. But they usually learn from those poor mistakes. They figure out not to be a spoiled brat.

Yeah, that didn’t happen here until the last few pages. And even then, it was scarce.

Cricket, oddly enough, was the best part of the book (sans his name, of course). He was such a nice guy, and he could do the one thing Lola couldn’t – own up to his shortcomings and mistakes. He apologizes. Unlike Lola, who’s your A-typical teenage drama queen.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 star books

Leave a Reply

