Red Queen

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

For those of you like me who were unfortunate enough to read The Selection, this book is trigger central for the horrors that were The Selection.

Let’s see . . . a gathering of pretty, bratty well-to-do girls for the crowned prince’s hand in marriage, all competing against each other, camera everywhere – though Lord knows even this isn’t enough to deter our (read: stupid) protagonist from doing stupid things that will be caught on camera, even when she thinks she being “sneaky” and won’t get caught – and the best friend that may have more than just “friendly” feelings for the oh-so special protagonist?

Oh, where oh where have I heard this before . . .

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

I feel like this book betrayed me. I was expecting so much better.

Honestly, the only reason I rated this as high as I did was because for some inexplicable reason, I raced through this, my heart pounding (on for than one occasion because I was actually nervous for the protagonist and her stupid, stupid decisions), and on some scale this was an entertaining read. It kept me up past my bedtime, I will admit.

The reason for this, though, was because of the few redeeming qualities: tension, suspense, stupid decisions that I was just waiting for the fallout for, suspense, a decently done love triangle, not A-typical characters (excluding Mare), and, oh, did I mention . . . SUSPENSE?

I just can’t deal with a stupid heroine. For the sake of my mental health I . . . just can’t. And Mare was STUPID, man.

Off the bat, I knew what this story was going to be after the first few chapters. And can I just get this out there and say that this theme is soooo done and dead. Please, authors, stop writing The Hunger Games knockoffs. The overdone theme of a split society of poverty and the elite, where we have the dirt poor heroine who somehow rises up and is SPECIAL (*shudder*) and somehow, in-between getting her friends and family killed and stupid decisions, saves the world and turns it around where the devil rich are defeated and the kind, poor are risen up.

Please.

Stop this crap. I am beyond sick of this theme. The Hunger Games, Matched, The Selection . . . the list could go on and on.

Besides that, though, I had some real beef with the females portrayed here. Like so many other YA books, why are all the women besides the heroine catty, b-words? Every. Freakin’. Time.

These women are simply there to make the heroine look that much better. To put a little spotlight on her to say that she could do no wrong.

The ending, though . . . The ending made me both enraged and happy. Happy, because I never would have expected it. Enraged, because I feel that it was only there to push Mare into another man’s arms. I was pissed, because, frankly, I only liked one of the love interests in the book from the very beginning, and also from the very beginning, I could tell that he didn’t stand a chance. How did I know? Because the heroine always ends up with the guy she meets first. There are almost never any exceptions.

There were some times when I felt Mare was a decent heroine. Key word: some.

“I’m a Red girl in a sea of Silvers and I can’t afford to feel sorry for anyone, least of all the son of a snake.”  

The times where I realized she honestly wasn’t thinking so much about the love interests. Where I felt she was more concerned with the fate of her people than which prince she’d end up with.

But then . . . But then she had to go and kiss one of them.

MOTHEROFGOODNESSME

What’s worse is that Mare even says no. Like, literally, she says the word “No.” Like, hey, dude, no don’t kiss me, we have better things to do and worry about. But she says it half-heartedly, and what does the idiot prince do?

Kisses her anyway.

Honestly, this was where that prince lost all hope with me. Because even if we’re inside Mare’s mind and we know she actually did want the prince to kiss her, if a girl says “No” when a guy’s about to kiss her, under no circumstances should said guy go ahead and kiss her.

Mare does not listen to any good advice. She makes stupid, selfish decisions that not only endanger her, but her family and other people how have risked things for her. She does not think things through.

10 Comments

Filed under 2 star books

10 responses to “Red Queen

  1. A Pencil in her hand

    Hmm…I’ve gotten this book three times from the library, and each time I had to return it before I read it. Now I’m not sure whether or not to order it a fourth time. Ain’t nobody got time for reading bad books, but this one is right on the fence. *Taps finger against chin*

  2. A Pencil in her hand

    Well, something has stopped me every time, so you’re not the only one against it. At least now I can stop wondering about it. 😀 *Goes back to re-reading the Throne of Glass series*

    • I’ve been reading a lot of dystopian, fantasy kind of books lately, but now I’m reading Saint Anything, and I have to say that so far I’m 60% into it and I’m between a 4 and 5 star rating. I’m pretty impressed, especially since the last Sarah Dessen book was a failure for me.

  3. A Pencil in her hand

    Ooh! I’ve never read a Sarah Dessen book. I’ve primarily been reading fantasy, because I haven’t gotten tired of it yet (Or ever). Sometimes it’s nice to curl up with something in another genre, though. I’ll have to check that one out. Will you be reviewing it?

    • Yes I think I’ll review Saint Anything. Sarah Dessen novels are – for me – a hit or miss. I started reading them when I first started getting into reading YA books, so that’s mostly why I continue to read them all. I find them just simple, good entertainment. They don’t push me to the edge of my seat like fantasy can, but sometimes that’s nice for me. Right now, it’s just what I need after reading so many action packed books in a row.

      However, if you want something in another genre, I would firstly recommend something my Rainbow Rowell. She doesn’t write high fantasy or anything like that, but about real life stuff. She’s one of my top ten authors now. Especially her Fangirl novel. I’ve re-read and re-read that book so many times it’s ridiculous.

      For Sarah Dessen, some people call her books for “younger kids.” Like not young adult so much as for pre-teens. And I wholly disagree with that. I’m not sure why Sarah Dessen books are sometimes looked down on, but Dessen is the kind of writer where you feel like she writing nice and simple things, and then all of sudden she hits you with a such well-written paragraph or sentence that just sums up something about life so perfectly you have to re-read it again and think about how that’s something you’ve always felt, but never had the words to describe it.

      If you want to start with a Sarah Dessen book, however, I would recommend you first read Just Listen or The Truth About Forever or This Lullaby. Those are the main three she’s the most well known for and are probably her best. Though if Saint Anything continues to go as it has been, it might be up there with my favorites.

  4. A Pencil in her hand

    Thank you so much for the recommendations of which ones to start with! I’ve read Eleanor and Park (*;aksd;jadsf*) but none of Rainbow Rowell’s other books. Is Attachments good?

    • Attachments was my least favorite of Rowell’s books, honestly. It wouldn’t be something I would really recommend. It’s just kind of slow going and it felt so different from her other novels. I would really recommend Fangirl (I love it more than Eleanor & Park), but I also loved Landline. Though I’d recommend reading Fangirl before Landline, because there may or may not be a little cameo in Landline about something related to Fangirl, and if you’ve read Fangirl, it makes it all that much better (I may or may not have squealed like a pre-teen when it happened). Plus, Landline is different because it’s the POV of an older married woman with two kids, not the high school or college age were used to. But it’s still amazing. I kind of want to re-read Landline here soon, because I loved it so much.

  5. A Pencil in her hand

    I just spotted Fangirl when I was shelving. It is a sign. *hugs book and scuttles off to read it*

    • Ohhh . . . I now want to re-read it. Funny thing is, Fangirl was the first book I ever read without actually reading . . . It was on Audible. Not a huge fan of listening to a book, so I stopped, but the lady who read Fangirl was just fantastic with all the characters’ voices and such. I read (listened?) to it during my first year of college, so it was a nice reprieve after reading too much every day. Nice for my eyes. I still listen to certain parts of it randomly. Gosh, I love that book.

Leave a Reply

