The Assassin’s Blade

The Assassin's Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-0.5)

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Okay, so I broke down and read this. I’m not usually up for novellas or side stories or prequels or anything like that, but . . . for Sarah J. Maas, I will gladly do it.

I just can't even with the feels......

You know when you’ve been spoiled, and you know something about the ending to that really, really good book that you’re still reading, and even though you’ve been spoiled and should therefore be able to prepare yourself for that ending, you just fail miserably?

Yeah.

This is one of those times.

“She would tuck Sam into her heart, a bright light for her to take out whenever things were darkest.” 

Sam Cortland “She would tuck Sam into her heart, a bright light for her to take out whenever things were darkest.”  - The Assassin's Blade

Dear, God.

It’s no secret that I’m in love with Celaena. I hide nothing about that. And I love Rowan.

And now, I love Sam.

No one freakin’ told me, warned me I would like him like much. Sam was supposed to be the background noise to Celaena’s pain and past. I was supposed to listen to Celaena talk about her past with Sam the assassin and feel for her lost love, but not. This. Freakin’. Much.

This isn’t okay. Not okay at all.

Celaena still shines with all her pride and gorgeousness, even before her time at the salt mine. I also realized that I never really understood Arobynn Hamel. I knew him as her trainer, her benefactor and the man who saved her from drowning in the river, but I never really thought of him having this sick, twisted love with her. Not as a father or a brother or a lover, even, but as . . . something else. Something else entirely.

I never understood that Arobynn deeply cared about Celaena, in his own dark ways. He is a selfish, greedy man who promotes blood lust and cold-blooded murder, of course. But he still saved a little girl in the river all those years ago, and while he is by no means innocent (if given the chance I would gut the man myself), I feel like I understand him a bit more.

I also understand how Celaena saw him before Sam was murdered. How she looked up to him, how deeply she wanted his love and respect. How she still wanted all the things a child would want in a parent even as he forces her to murder people and rack up a debt he knew would be almost impossible to pay off. (And wasn’t it just so ironic and just that Celaena finally pays off her debt to Arobynn through not her murders, but with her kindness and selflessness?)

Celaena continues to defy all my expectations for her. How she can be so mature and bold in life and see that she is never going to be able to run from pain and misery, because those are just a fact of life, she can choose how she is punished in life. She can choose to be punished for doing something right, and that is not nothing. Because in the end, she answers to herself and her conscious. So what if Arobynn might beat her senseless and so what if she looses all her worth in his eyes, the man who she cares for the most? If she’d going to be hurt, she’s going to do it on her terms and have as clean as a conscious as she can manage.

And then she would remember how it had felt to be loved, when the world held nothing but possibility. No matter what they did to her, they could never take that away. She would not break.  ~ Celaena (Assassin's Blade)

And I hadn’t realized quite how Sam died . . .

Even though I expected it . . . it was still surprising, in the way it occurred. Which makes no sense, because if you’ve read the other books, Celaena even talks about exactly what happened. But still . . . it hurt. A lot.

So much so, actually, I found myself standing up from my comfy leather reading chair and scowling and (maybe) crying and cursing Arobynn and cursing Sam for not seeing it coming and cursing Celaena for waiting . . .

Ach.

And then there’s Celaena, getting shipped off, betrayed and broken, and I knew how this was going to end . . . but . . .

Goddamn Celaena.

Sam was – to put it lightly – perfect. He was truly Celaena’s other half, and now when I read about Dorian or Chaol, they just won’t even come close.

I don’t even care.

Team Sam all the way.

Quote from THE ASSASSIN'S BLADE: THE THRONE OF GLASS NOVELLAS by @Sarah Chintomby Chintomby J. Maas

Like, I have no idea how Celaena moves on from Sam. He was perfect, and he had been waiting for her his whole life, and while they dance around each other with weapons and pointed words and jealousies they’re both trying to ignore, they never get childish about it. They never walk away from the other in a fit of fury and stew about it for the rest of the day. (Well . . . Celaena does. Once. When she was still ignoring her feelings and being adorable and frustrating about it all. Gosh, I love the girl.)

Sam Cortland, The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas <3  Love you Sam, forever. :'(

7 Comments

Filed under 5 star books

7 responses to “The Assassin’s Blade

  1. A Pencil in her hand

    *Sobs and strokes book cover* This book, man. It messed me up, and left me bleeding. I love it. It’s probably my favorite, or a close second to Heir of Fire.

    • I don’t actually own any of Sarah J. Maas’s books (*sobs in corner over expensive hardcover books*), but that may change soon. My overstuffed three bookcases might hate me for adding yet more heavy books, but, geez, Celaena and Feyre are worth it.

      And Sam.

      Sam is worth it.

      So is Rowan.

      (*sobbing intensifies*)

  2. A Pencil in her hand

    This book makes me want Sam. There needs to be another novella just like this so we can have more Sam. ❤ And I completely agree with you about him being her perfect other half. I honestly don't see how anything could quite compare to what she had with Sam. And I cannot wait until some of the characters in this book show up in the main series. *Screams*

    This book is absolutely gorgeous in hardcover. 😀 I have The Throne of Glass series all in hardcover. (Be jealous <3) And they are very worth it. Although college has robbed me so much I almost couldn't afford ACOTAR, I still managed to snag it. My bookshelves hate me.

    Rowan messes me up and I love him for it. ❤

    • I think another novella with Sam would break my heart. And now I just know the pirate king (yay, pirates!) and Ansel (Celaena really does have the worst luck with female companions, I swear) will show up in the series. And that tidbit about the Ironwitches . . . gotta say, I’m really looking forward to Celaena and the Ironwitches. I feel like she could overthrow the king with the witches behind her, easily. They’re like a match made in heaven. ;p

      I am very jealous. And I hear you about college . . . my library card is well used. I kind of think the librarians hate me, because every time I go to pick up the 10 or so books I ordered and are on hold for me, I get some funny looks. And then when I pick up my books from the Books on Hold section, I leave this huge gap. They know I was there.

      Good gosh, Rowan. I swear, if Celaena doesn’t end up with him in the end I’m gonna throw a fit. They’re just so perfect for each other, especially now that we know how similar their histories are with love. I’m half expecting to find out Celaena and Sam were soulmates like Rowan was with his wife. To me, that would make sense.

  3. A Pencil in her hand

    Oh my gosh, the pirate king will be amazing if he comes back in. I hope his role is a larger one than a mere mention. And I can’t wait for more Ansel. ❤ And Arobynn. That slimy man is going to slither through the fourth book. I'm sure of it. I'm really looking forward to Celaena with the witches as well, because that showdown will just be epic. *clutches heart* Can you imagine it? I have tons of theories about the Ironteeth witches and their role in the series. Or in hell 😉

    How on earth can they hate you for loving to read? That's terrible! I think it's awesome you read so much. I work at my library in the summer and I'm guilty of checking out at least six books a day. Once, my amount of holds at the library that I had to pick up was 40 before they put a 20 item limit on it. Sometimes I take up two shelves. 😀

    YES. Except that Sam and Celaena have definitely hurt each other and I was under the impression that soulmates couldn't harm eachother.
    Celaena just hurts everyone- although I don't think she's ever hurt Dorian physically. *Squints* I don't want her ending up with Dorian. I mean, /maybe/ Sarah could convince me that it'd work, but why would she even do that when ROWAN stinkin WHITETHORN is a character?

    • Mmm . . . I don’t know about the hurting each other thing. But I could see a loophole in that because Celaena never actually wanted to hurt or kill Sam . . . she was just kinda pissed at him a lot. But I don’t think she ever hurt him to kill him, so maybe that’s why??

      Oh, dear, I hope not Dorian. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t hate Dorian or even Chaol, but . . . they’re not Rowan. Or Sam. And I was so pissy with both Dorian and Chaol during the first and a good chunk of the second books. Mad at Dorian because he never seemed to care about what his father was really doing and Chaol for serving such a king. I mean, don’t get me wrong – I get it. The king is a cruel and unjust man (obviously) and who could get anyone to do anything for him if he wanted, but . . . yeah. I’ve never been a huge Dorian or Chaol fan. Even though I have a slight suspicion that she’s going to end up with one of them. I’m thinking Dorian now because of how Chaol hurt her before, and I just don’t think Celaena could forgive that (also the fact that she obviously isn’t soulmates with Chaol after everything . . . I just don’t see it happening now).

      But who knows? With Sarah J. Maas, I could totally see Celaena ending up with some character we haven’t even gotten to see yet. It would be so like her. But as of right now, I’m so Team Rowan. All the freakin’ way. I fangirled so hard during the third book, it was ridiculous.

      Oh! Oh! So, I heard some more things about A Court of Thorns and Roses! Still not sure how much is true, but I heard the sequel will be a Hades and Persephone retelling and that it will be in Feyre’s POV (with Feyre as Persephone and Rhys as Hades, what with the going to his court for that one glorious week, like Hades taking Persephone every winter). And I also heard that when he looked at her at the end of the book it was because he DID see her as his mate, but I also heard a little something about Tamlin also being her mate. (*clasps hands and gives many thanks to God for this possibility*)

  4. A Pencil in her hand

    That’s the best news I’ve heard all day! Oh I really hope that that’s how it plays out because it would be gorgeous and perfect. *Clutches heart* I love Hades and Persephone. And it had better be in Ferye’s POV. (*Thanks God with Hannah*) This could be mindblowingly amazing. Our fangirl hearts are in your hands, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

