An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

Rating: 1 Star

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Laia is a slave.

Elias is a soldier.

Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Well. This was boring.

I don’t get it. Everyone on Goodreads is raving about this book and wanting the sequel and in love with Elias and blah, blah, blah, and then there’s me, over here in my little reading nook, using a great amount of willpower to get through this book.

I almost failed in even doing that much. About 1/3 into the book, I saw how this was going for me, but continued to look at reviews of this book and just made myself believe that it gets better and continuing it was worth it. By halfway into the book, I gave up on this hope. Still, I continued, and more than 2/3 into it, I dropped it for about a week until I finally forced myself to pick it back up and skim the rest of it. It was brutal, I will not lie.

Firstly, I felt no connection with any of the characters. None, not an inkling. I tried too. I tried to like Elias and Laia. I tried to admire her courage into becoming a slave in the hope’s of freeing her brother. I understood all the things she did, and I never considered her stupid or childish. She’s desperate and she knows it. I get that. But . . . still. I just couldn’t make myself like the girl. I didn’t hate her or even dislike her, I just . . . felt nothing for her. Same goes for Elias. He’s not stupid, and also desperate. But I just felt nothing for him.

“There are two kinds of guilt. The kind that’s a burden and the kind that gives you purpose. Let your guilt be your fuel. Let it remind you of who you want to be. Draw a line in your mind. Never cross it again. You have a soul. It’s damaged but it’s there. Don’t let them take it from you.”

They’re not even bad characters! In some cases, they’re great characters! They’re not whiny, not annoying, but . . . again, I just didn’t feel a thing for either of them. Oh, Laia, you’re about to get killed by your slave owner? Okie, dookie.

It’s not even that the characters are stereotypes or are obvious, because they’re not. But there was just something missing in the writing and character development that made me feel anything.

Reading this was like reading a textbook – I understood everything I was reading, but do I really care? Not really. I always had that underlying sense of thinking about better things I had to do.

Maybe it was because it was unconsciously comparing it to the Throne of Glass series. And nothing is going to live up to that in my book.

We have this cool world where there’s basically an assassin academy where they all wear masks that plaster onto their faces and slaves and magic and mythical creatures and a plot to overthrow the evil Emperor, and I. Just. Didn’t. Give. A. Hoot.

So . . . yeah. I’m probably not going to read the sequel. If I do, I am desperate and very, very bored.

6 Comments

Filed under 1 star books

6 responses to “An Ember in the Ashes

  1. A Pencil in her hand

    Aw, only one star, Hannah? It was probably a 3/3.5 for me. The cover is beautiful enough for its own star. I definitely preferred Elias over Laia, but Helene was who really made me enjoy it. 🙂

    • As far as my favorite character, I would have to agree on it being Helene. But even that was slim to none. I agree on the cover, since that had a big role in me even picking it up to read it, but there was something about the writing too that I just didn’t really like. I don’t really know what it was . . . it just never really grabbed me, you know? I was just so bored.

  2. A Pencil in her hand

    But what was with that part where they just killed everyone for a trial or something? I had to reread that a few times and I still don’t quite get it.

    • Are you talking about the third trial? The one where Elias and Helene had their friends fighting with them and had to give the order to kill the other team to win the trial? I think that was just a way to see who was more ruthless. Also, the Augors (or whatever they’re called) obviously knew that Helene was wearing armor, and they just wanted Elias to make a kill strike for their own sick purposes. They knew Helene was never going to die by Elias’s hand, I think.

  3. A Pencil in her hand

    Yes, the third trial. I don’t understand the point of it, I guess? It seemed a rather sloppy way to get rid of characters. “JUST KILL EVERYONE IN ONE GO SO THEY AREN’T AROUND FOR THE SEQUEL” But I honestly wasn’t expecting him to actually stab her. I suppose it did prove he was willing to go to any length to win the trials.

    • Yeah, I agree. I think the point was to be able to continue fighting even if you have to kill your friends and see your friends dying besides you. I remember Helene after the trial was over said that they had to go up against their worst fears in these trials, and so having to kill a friend because you were ordered to do so was one of those fears. Just like putting Zak and Marcus against each other was probably their worst fears.

Leave a Reply

