The Raven King

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

The Raven King: Gansey:

“Richard Gansey III had forgotten how many times he had been told he was destined for greatness.”

runningwithhellhounds:  part deux; richard gansey the third and fancy journals:

This series.

This effing series.

Richard Gansey III | The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater:

This is one of my all-time favorite series. Like, ever. Mostly, I enjoy or love one book from a series, but almost never do I feel the same amount of joy from reading any of the books in the series.

I made myself re-read the first three books in this series before I so much as touched The Raven King. I was dedicated. I wanted to remember every little thing about what had happened before jumping into this train ride of feels.

My gosh, was it a ride. This is one of the most unique series I’ve ever, ever read. Somehow Stiefvater was able to include the ups-and-downs of the supernatural, abuse, poverty, friendship, wealth, love, self-hatred, stereotypes, and many more feels to come!

The Raven Cycle. Make Way For The Raven King.:

Nothing is pushed to the side. Every possible painful thing we saw coming from the three previous books is thrown at our faces and says look at me!

There are things about this book that made me more than a little unhappy, I’ll be honest. Upon finishing this, a fine variety of emotions hit me, some of which being sadness, anger, and desperation. I didn’t feel that this series could be over. It doesn’t feel complete to me.

“He was a book, and he was holding his final pages, and he wanted to get to the end to find out how it went, and he didn’t want it to be over.”

I almost gave this book four stars, but it was just too good to not give it five stars, so I made myself give it 4.5 stars and just round up.

My main issue was Noah. There’s not as much of him in this last book, and that really made me upset. I understand why, and it’s not like he’s pushed to the side or anything (in fact, he plays a rather vital role near the end . . .), but I wasn’t happy with his ending. It wasn’t sad, exactly, but I felt there could have been more.

Also, there was the kiss. I mean, The Kiss. You know, the one between Gansey and Blue, the one we all knew was coming like a freight train and both anticipated it and dreaded it?

It wasn’t as . . . dramatic as I had been expecting. There is no great boom! or fireworks when it happens. It happens so quickly. In a way, I almost anticipated the none-kiss between Blue and Gansey in the last book more. But maybe that was just because I knew this was coming and my body was so numb by that point in the book from all the other feels that I could not properly process it. That is completely probable.

I was very, very happy with the actual overall ending, though. I don’t always say that, but here it was true. It made sense to me (as much sense as Cabeswater and corpse lines and dream thieves could make sense to anyone, I suppose).

I like that even though from the very first book – the very first line – we know that Blue has been told she will kill her true love if she kisses him, this isn’t a story about love. It’s about magic and dead kings and a dead boy and a damaged boy and friendship and loving people so much it hurts.

“You’re asking me to define an abstract concept that no one has managed to explain since time began. You sort of sprang it on me,” Gansey said. “Why do we breathe air? Because we love air? Because we don’t want to suffocate. Why do we eat? Because we don’t want to starve. How do I know I love her? Because I can sleep after I talk to her. Why?”

Blue and Gansey from The Raven Cycle. There goes my heart...:

There are about two things in this book (that of which I cannot go into because: spoilers) that completely surprised me. I mean, never in a million years would I have guessed those two things happening, and both of them are what made me take the book down a half star. I didn’t hate them, per say . . . but they weren’t my favorite things to happen, either.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love the relationships these characters have.

It’s not all about just Blue and Gansey, or Adam and Ronan. It’s about Blue and Noah, and Gansey and Adam, and Noah and Ronan, and Blue and Adam, etc, etc, . . . They have unbreakable feelings for each other. To take one of them away would be to ruin them all. They are all completely and utterly in love with each other, and it kind of makes my heart really, really hurt.

But in a good way.

“She felt one thousand years old. She also felt like maybe she was a condescending brat. She wanted her bike. She wanted her friends, who were also one-thousand-year-old condescending brats. She wanted to live in a world where she was surrounded by one-thousand-year-old condescending brats.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books

Leave a Reply

