Daily Archives: June 12, 2016

Winter

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

So. Freaking. Long.

824 pages. 824 FREAKING PAGES. Too much, way too much.

The Lunar Chronicles by candy8496.deviantart.com on @deviantART:

“He laughed, like someone had stabbed him in the chest and he had no other choice but to find it amusing.”

The above reason is why this book lost a star for me. There were times when I just wanted the story to hurry up and get to the final battle against Levana. Unless you are JK Rowling or Sarah J. Maas, you are not allowing to make a book this long. 600 pages at max, please. Over 800 just gets to be way, way too much.

Besides that, this was a great conclusion. I would have preferred a little more Cress and Thorne action (both are still my favorites), but whatever.

I didn’t love Winter and Jacin as much as I was hoping. There was just something lacking about them . . .

I loved Cress. It’s my favorite of this series, followed by Scarlet. I’m not even a huge fan of this series as a whole, as it seems the whole YA book community is. It just never stuck with me as much.

I think there was too much going on at some points. Too many POVs.

That being said, I love the relationships in this book. The friendships are fantastic, but it felt like every other main character was being captured or tortured or freed or hunted back-to-back. It felt fast paced at first, but then as I got to about 40%, I was over it.

Half the time I was wondering why no one had just gotten a freakin’ rifle and set up outside the palace on Luna and taken a shot of the queen when she came outside, out of range of her mind control. Like, really. Go to Finland and get on of their best men who can use a rifle and get to it.

I appreciated the fairytale aspect of this whole series, however. It’s the definition of unique. But this book felt less about understanding the characters (new and old ones) and more about the action of the revolution. Which was fine, I guess, but it left me wanting something a little more.

Winter was interesting in that she was truly insane. There was no acting there. She was off her rocker, and all because she refused to use her Lunar gift, because she didn’t want to take the risk of hurting others by trying to do good.

"She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option." Winter Marissa Meyer Lunar Chronicles:

I enjoyed hers and Jacin’s romance because he’s willing to be as selfish as need be for her. Betray the queen for her? Yep. Fake her death to protect her? Of course. Take Winter away from the fight and go with her even if it means leaving behind everyone else? Obviously.

There’s something to be said about that kind of dedication.

I really enjoyed Iko here. I thought she was great in previous books, but she really stood out in this last book to me. Witty, funny, blunt . . .

But still . . . Cress and Thorne.

THE LUNAR CHRONICLES - CAPTAIN CARSWELL THORNE by Marissa Meyer“Captain,” she murmured.“I think I’m in love with you.”An eyebrow shot up. She counted six beats of his heart before, suddenly, he laughed.“Don’t tell me it took you two whole days to realize that. I must be losing my touch.”:

By far my favorites.

“You’re a good guy, Thorne.” She paused. “Well, you have your moments.”

I loved that Cress is still shy and awkward and not very brave, but if you put her in a situation in which she needs to do something, she’ll do it. She’s a nerd and a romantic who can’t hide her feelings to save her life, and I loved that about her.

I kinda wanted Cress to just slap Thorne during this book, because he was being all protective and stupid and flirting with every other girl except Cress, and she took that as him not seeing her as attractive at all.

Can’t say I blame her for that.

“A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.”
Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.”

And he doesn’t think he deserves her, and anymore when a guy says he doesn’t think he deserves a girl, that’s telling me he really does. Because he thinks so much of her that he could never measure up.

But still. I wanted to slap some sense into him and just make them kiss already.

Cress and Thorne are from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer art by taratjah on deviant art:

Thorne is still his normal, cocky self. Which I loved. Obviously.

“Thorne scoffed. “Careful is my middle name. Right after Suave and Daring.”
“Do you even know what you’re saying half the time?” asked Cinder.”

I also enjoyed how Levana unraveled during this installment. How she became paranoid, scared because of the threat of Selene.

I probably should have felt a little bad for Levana since I know her whole past and everything and how she came to be the way she is, but I just don’t. She was at the point where you recognize her sad, sad story, but she’s done so many worse things that there’s not much more space for anything other than disgust.

Guess that’s why she’s the wicked queen, huh?

My Idea for the "Design a Sticker" Contest from Marissa Meyer :):

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 star books

Dangerous Lies

Dangerous Lies

Rating: 1 Star

Synopsis via Goodreads:

A teen is forced to make a fresh start after witnessing a violent crime—but love and danger find her anyway in this novel from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.

As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks…

DNF at 10%.

This was ridiculous. Absolutely, utterly, completely ridiculous.

I don’t even know why I try. I don’t have a good track record with any previous Becca Fitzpatrick novel . . . and I’ve read them all.

I think I may have to throw in the towel for good on this author.

I can’t even deal with Stella. I can put up with a lot of BS from a character, but five pages in and I was ready to throw the book at the wall. The only thing stopping me was fear of the noise it would make and then attempting to explain why I threw an object at the wall like it had bitten me, and because no matter how bad a book is, I simply cannot bring myself to inadvertently hurt it. So sue me.

ANYWAYS.

Stella goes on my list of bratty, whiny female characters. Like, really. You want to give the definition of a stereotypical middle-class, latte drinking, brand name wearing, American teenage girl, well, Stella’s your girl.

I just don’t get characters like Stella. When I was sixteen, I don’t think I was anything like Stella. I was doing nothing but school and clubs and reading and more reading and drinking tea. I never even liked lattes.

I concur.

Stella bascially has a death wish. That is what I got out of the few chapters I could bring myself to read of this book. Stella is hidden away in rural Nebraska (and FYI, I used to live in Nebraska, and it’s not all full of corn growing, country hicks on tractors, okay?) because people are most likely trying to kill her.

(Frankly, I understand the feeling.)

Stella does everything you’re NOT supposed to do when trying to stay hidden. She breaks all the rules because she sees this as unfair. Well, it is unfair. You get over it. Wanna be mad, be mad at your mother for putting you in this situation, be mad at Danny Balando who is trying to kill you, but don’t freakin’ take it out of the people trying to keep you alive.

Maybe Stella gets better. Maybe, but I wasn’t holding my breath.

I got to the point (which was about 10% the way through the book) where I just couldn’t imagine anything Stella doing or saying going forward that would save my opinion of her, so I got out before my blood pressure rose any higher.

I’m thinking that was a smart idea.

Of course I could tell there was going to be a love triangle after the first chapter. Stella can’t shut up about her perfect little boyfriend who she was so cruelly, absolutely cruelly taken from and thrown into little hick-town, Nebraska. So cruel. It wasn’t, like, the government was trying to save her life or anything.

I mean, it was her boyfriend.

But, of course, that doesn’t stop the wandering eyes to the best looking hick Stella’s ever seen. Mowing those lawns at 5AM in the morning, waking her up with his sweaty, naked chest. So inconvenient.

I give one guess to who Stella’s going to end up with, and it won’t be boyfriend-what’s-his-name.

Naw, it’ll be the good lookin’ hick. Who I’m guessing won’t have a shirt on half the time and will likely have a nice drawl to his words and is caring and an alpha male and has a secretive, dangerous past that Stella will get thrown into, but their love shall overcome!

Did I get it right?

I think so.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 star books

November 9

November 9

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Soooo goooooddddd~

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

I wasn’t expecting this. Really, I wasn’t. With Colleen Hoover, I never know what I’m getting, but I believe this is my third novel by her that I’ve read, and it’s by far my favorite.

I almost didn’t want to give this five stars. Not because it isn’t that good – ’cause it is – but because I tend to be scarce with any five star review. Five star reviews are, to me, basically saying this book is as near to perfection as you’re gonna get.

But I just couldn’t give this anything less than five stars. My heart ached during this.

november 9:

I loved everything about this. I loved how we don’t see any other aspect of Fallon and Ben’s lives except on November 9 for so many years. Even if they leave on bad notes with each other, well, the next part we read about is going to be a year later since that happened. And I loved everything about that. It added a whole new spectrum to this story.

I even loved the near insta-love. Yes, you heard me. I loved it. It actually – stay with me now – seemed believable.

*le gasp!*

This was partly due to how both Fallon and Ben make fun – out loud – about how if their story was a book, they’d both be gagging at the insta-love. I found this adorable. And then Fallon starts using all the book-ish terms we all know and love, such as our TBR pile, insta-love, alpha male, etc, etc, . . .

“Don’t stop” I tease in a seductive voice. ” Give me more, Ben. Did you read eBooks or…” I run my finger slowly down his chest.”Hardbacks?”
He pulls his hands behind his head and a smug look washes over his face. “Oh, they were hardbacks, all right. And I’m not sure if you’re ready for this, but…I have my own TBR pile. You should read it, Fallon. It’s huge.”

I found their love believable, which anymore is a hard thing to find in YA novels set in real life. Sure, Fallon and Ben have an instant connection at the very beginning and meet in a way that most likely would never actually happen in real life, but it wasn’t gag worthy. They spend their first day together, and maybe they’re both a little reckless for their own reasons, but Fallon’s leaving that night no matter what.

“Seriously though. This female attraction to the alpha-male throws me off a little bit, because I’m not anything like the guys you read about.”
Yeah. You’re better.
“I could never drive a motorcycle, or fight another man just for fun. And as much as I’ve fantasized about having sex with you this year, I don’t think I could ever say, ‘I own you’, with a straight face. And I’ve always wanted a tattoo, but probably just a small one, because no way in hell I could endure the pain. Overall, the books were interesting but they also made me feel highly inadequate.”

And you know what I really, really loved?

Fallon refuses to give Ben her phone number once she leaves. 

They spend the whole day together, kiss each other, really, really like each other, and Ben asks for a way to contact Fallon . . . and she says no.

Email? Nope. Social media? Fallon blocks them both on every social media site they’re on, on both their phones. Fax? LOL . . .  but no.

She doesn’t want to move to New York and be held back by anything. And she makes a great point: If she and Ben exchange phone numbers, all either of them are going to be focusing on all year long is when the other is going to text them, call them, and won’t be able to live their own lives.

So no way to contact each other. They agree to meet up the next year, same time, same place, but that’s it. No contact whatsoever before then.

No promises, either. Ben wants Fallon to go on dates with other guys; he even wants her to kiss at least two other guys before he sees her again. He’s no alpha male. He isn’t possessive of her, doesn’t get easily jealous of this girl he just met and has an instant connection with.

So they meet up each year at the same time, same place. And then we get to hear what’s going on in their lives, what’s happened. There’s drama, but nothing gag worthy. Heartbreaking at times, yes, but never gag worthy.

The ending killed me. I never felt that Fallon or Ben were stupid or childish or rash. There’s even a point when Ben begs Fallon to stay with him, to let him move with her to New York, and while Fallon would love that, she doesn’t want to be the girl Ben uproots his life for. He’s needed in L.A., and she recognizes that. So she says no, even though it crushes Ben.

I loved that. That was an amazingly adult decision to make, and I agreed with it. Ben had just gotten seriously tragic news, and the last thing he needed to do was uproot his life and make a sudden, rash decision based on a girl.

I loved Ben. Seriously. He’s adorable. I loved that he doesn’t try to be all alpha male, because personally there’s nothing about that I find attractive. Ben cries nearly as much as Fallon. He doesn’t suck it up and be all tough, ’cause he’s hurting.

November 9  Colleen Hoover:

I even loved how absolutely, utterly hormonal boy-ish he is. Literally the first thing we get out of Ben when he sees Fallon is him wondering what her boobs look like. Seriously. He’s attracted to her, majorly, and Hoover is able to write about that without making Fallon look like a piece of meat.

Colleen Hoover - November 9:

Ben fights for Fallon. He sees her as a gift. He treats her like perfection, even though she’s not. He pushes her to stand up for herself, to get back the motivation and self-esteem she lost when a good chunk of her body was burned in a fire. He’ll stand up for her, but he’ll also make sure she stands up for herself, always.

Not going to lie – there were parts of this book that were hot. Like, Hot with a capital “H.” It’s not even that there was too much detail or anything, but . . . my gosh, Ben knew just the things to say without making Fallon – or me – feel awkward like is sometimes the case when things get heated between characters.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 star books