Winter

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

So. Freaking. Long.

824 pages. 824 FREAKING PAGES. Too much, way too much.

The Lunar Chronicles by candy8496.deviantart.com on @deviantART:

“He laughed, like someone had stabbed him in the chest and he had no other choice but to find it amusing.”

The above reason is why this book lost a star for me. There were times when I just wanted the story to hurry up and get to the final battle against Levana. Unless you are JK Rowling or Sarah J. Maas, you are not allowing to make a book this long. 600 pages at max, please. Over 800 just gets to be way, way too much.

Besides that, this was a great conclusion. I would have preferred a little more Cress and Thorne action (both are still my favorites), but whatever.

I didn’t love Winter and Jacin as much as I was hoping. There was just something lacking about them . . .

I loved Cress. It’s my favorite of this series, followed by Scarlet. I’m not even a huge fan of this series as a whole, as it seems the whole YA book community is. It just never stuck with me as much.

I think there was too much going on at some points. Too many POVs.

That being said, I love the relationships in this book. The friendships are fantastic, but it felt like every other main character was being captured or tortured or freed or hunted back-to-back. It felt fast paced at first, but then as I got to about 40%, I was over it.

Half the time I was wondering why no one had just gotten a freakin’ rifle and set up outside the palace on Luna and taken a shot of the queen when she came outside, out of range of her mind control. Like, really. Go to Finland and get on of their best men who can use a rifle and get to it.

I appreciated the fairytale aspect of this whole series, however. It’s the definition of unique. But this book felt less about understanding the characters (new and old ones) and more about the action of the revolution. Which was fine, I guess, but it left me wanting something a little more.

Winter was interesting in that she was truly insane. There was no acting there. She was off her rocker, and all because she refused to use her Lunar gift, because she didn’t want to take the risk of hurting others by trying to do good.

"She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option." Winter Marissa Meyer Lunar Chronicles:

I enjoyed hers and Jacin’s romance because he’s willing to be as selfish as need be for her. Betray the queen for her? Yep. Fake her death to protect her? Of course. Take Winter away from the fight and go with her even if it means leaving behind everyone else? Obviously.

There’s something to be said about that kind of dedication.

I really enjoyed Iko here. I thought she was great in previous books, but she really stood out in this last book to me. Witty, funny, blunt . . .

But still . . . Cress and Thorne.

THE LUNAR CHRONICLES - CAPTAIN CARSWELL THORNE by Marissa Meyer“Captain,” she murmured.“I think I’m in love with you.”An eyebrow shot up. She counted six beats of his heart before, suddenly, he laughed.“Don’t tell me it took you two whole days to realize that. I must be losing my touch.”:

By far my favorites.

“You’re a good guy, Thorne.” She paused. “Well, you have your moments.”

I loved that Cress is still shy and awkward and not very brave, but if you put her in a situation in which she needs to do something, she’ll do it. She’s a nerd and a romantic who can’t hide her feelings to save her life, and I loved that about her.

I kinda wanted Cress to just slap Thorne during this book, because he was being all protective and stupid and flirting with every other girl except Cress, and she took that as him not seeing her as attractive at all.

Can’t say I blame her for that.

“A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.”
Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.”

And he doesn’t think he deserves her, and anymore when a guy says he doesn’t think he deserves a girl, that’s telling me he really does. Because he thinks so much of her that he could never measure up.

But still. I wanted to slap some sense into him and just make them kiss already.

Cress and Thorne are from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer art by taratjah on deviant art:

Thorne is still his normal, cocky self. Which I loved. Obviously.

“Thorne scoffed. “Careful is my middle name. Right after Suave and Daring.”
“Do you even know what you’re saying half the time?” asked Cinder.”

I also enjoyed how Levana unraveled during this installment. How she became paranoid, scared because of the threat of Selene.

I probably should have felt a little bad for Levana since I know her whole past and everything and how she came to be the way she is, but I just don’t. She was at the point where you recognize her sad, sad story, but she’s done so many worse things that there’s not much more space for anything other than disgust.

Guess that’s why she’s the wicked queen, huh?

My Idea for the "Design a Sticker" Contest from Marissa Meyer :):

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 star books

Leave a Reply

